cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Email migration from POP3 to Office 365

lawrenceshome

Email migration from POP3 to Office 365

Hi, I am an IT Professional and I am posting this on behalf of a customer

I need to migrate their Plus Net POP3 email over to Office 365, Plus Net also have the domain registration.

I called the help desk about adding DNS text records (as you can't do it) but they were less than helpful and redirected me here.

I have read a few posts on doing a Plus Net > 365 migration, Can I just clarify a few points please:

1. If I transfer the domain elsewhere according to the forums the Plus Net POP3 email will stop working - is this correct?

2. If I change the Plus Net DNS settings to MX, so I can at least verify the domain in 365, then Plus Net email will stop working (even if i then set the lowest MX record to mx.avasin.plus.net ) is this also correct?

If the above 2 answers are yes, then it seems the only realistic ways to move to 365 are:

1. transfer the domain away and put up with an email outage for however long the domain transfer and 365 configuration then take.

2. Change the MX and only use 365 on the web initially, then later transfer the domain so i can set it all up properly.

Anyone have any other ideas?

Thanks

Dan

4 REPLIES 4
MisterW
Superuser
Superuser
Fixes: 393

Re: Email migration from POP3 to Office 365

@lawrenceshome 

If the above 2 answers are yes,

I'm afraid they areSad. This thread https://community.plus.net/t5/Everything-else/MS-Office-365-Verify-Domain-for-Email-Setup/td-p/13059... seems to have the definitive information and I'm pretty sure that nothing has changed since then.

If the above 2 answers are yes, then it seems the only realistic ways to move to 365 are:

1. transfer the domain away and put up with an email outage for however long the domain transfer and 365 configuration then take.