cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Drupal error - unable to set sql_mode to traditional

Achilles
Newbie
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎05-03-2011

Drupal error - unable to set sql_mode to traditional

Hi all, I want to setup a Drupal CMS package on my plusnet webspace, but I seem to have ran out of luck.
So far I managed to go through hurdles by doing extensive searches on google and the plusnet forums, but I just can't figure this one out. Here's the log so far:
1) Uploaded files on to server (cgi side)
2) "Internal server error" - Modified permissions on files/folders + removed some unwanted entries from the included .htaccess file
3) Install finally ran, but produced errors on initial checkup - fixed these by creating a php.ini file to set 'register_globals' off
4) Now I'm stuck with this error when Drupal tries to setup the database:
SQLSTATE[42000]: Syntax error or access violation: 1231 Variable 'sql_mode' can't be set to the value of 'TRADITIONAL'.

I tried a few things without success. I don't know what else to do. Help!
6 REPLIES 6
spraxyt
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 10,063
Thanks: 1,369
Fixes: 75
Registered: ‎06-04-2007

Re: Drupal error - unable to set sql_mode to traditional

Does this version of Drupal require a version of MySQL later than 4.1.11?
David
scubarew
Grafter
Posts: 43
Registered: ‎31-07-2007

Re: Drupal error - unable to set sql_mode to traditional

If you are trying to install the latest Drupal (7) then it require MySQL 5.0.1. Unfortunately the CGI platform isn't that up-to-date.
Achilles
Newbie
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎05-03-2011

Re: Drupal error - unable to set sql_mode to traditional

Thanks guys! I am trying to use Drupal 7.. I guess the only option is to go for Drupal v6?!..
Gabe
Community Veteran
Posts: 767
Registered: ‎29-10-2008

Re: Drupal error - unable to set sql_mode to traditional

Unless installing Drupal 7 using sqlite rather than mysql would work. That is, I know it works, but I gather not all additional modules will play with it yet. It might be a way forward, depending on what you plan to tack onto Drupal.
Gabe
Achilles
Newbie
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎05-03-2011

Re: Drupal error - unable to set sql_mode to traditional

Cheers Gabe. I'll have a go and report back to the forum, hopefully soon. Roll_eyes
Achilles
Newbie
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎05-03-2011

Re: Drupal error - unable to set sql_mode to traditional

Quote from: Gabe
Unless installing Drupal 7 using sqlite rather than mysql would work. That is, I know it works, but I gather not all additional modules will play with it yet. It might be a way forward, depending on what you plan to tack onto Drupal.
Gabe

All done! Hopefully, my website is basic enough to make do with sqlite. Thanks!