cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Dreamweaver upload

bibin
Newbie
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎16-12-2007

Dreamweaver upload

I have dreamweaver CS3 and I want to upload my content into my webspace. How can it be done? FTP is one way, but after uploading it, when I check on the webite... it just opens for a limited time, and shifts to the page saying that nothing has been uploaded. Could someone tell me what Im doing wrong.
Thanks,
Bobin.
6 REPLIES 6
Peter_Vaughan
Community Veteran
Posts: 14,469
Registered: ‎30-07-2007

Re: Dreamweaver upload

When your webspace is created, plusnet creates a default index.html page which, if not overwritten, redirects the website to the PN default page.
So just replace the index.html file with your own home page and it should work.
The web server looks for the following as your home page: index.htm, index.html. index.shtml in that order or precedence.
Also if you are uploading to your www webspace, the files must go into the htdocs directory as that is your root or home directory.

bibin
Newbie
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎16-12-2007

Re: Dreamweaver upload

Thanks Peter,
I have uploaded naming the site index.html... tried naming the site index.htm and uploading as well. But its still just loading it for a second and jumping back to the Plus Net default site.
If you have Dreamweaver, could you check the settings and tell me:
Name            : (anything)
acess type    : ftp
ftp host          : ftp.plus.net
host directory : /htdocs/
login              : (as given)
password      : (as given)
everything else not checked
url prefix        : http://www.bibin.plus.com/
Could someone please tell me if this is correct for dreamweaver CS3.
Do see check the site, maybe it will help you to understand what is happening; www.bibin.plus.com
Thanks.
Strat
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 30,328
Thanks: 3,305
Fixes: 505
Registered: ‎14-04-2007

Re: Dreamweaver upload

It looks to me as though it's doing a redirect to Plusnet default page.
Take out the line
<meta http-equiv="refresh" content="1;url=http://webspace.plus.net/webspace_plusnet.html">

and it should work as expected

Customer and Forum Moderator. Windows 10 Firefox 87.0 (64-bit)

Strat
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 30,328
Thanks: 3,305
Fixes: 505
Registered: ‎14-04-2007

Re: Dreamweaver upload

I ripped the site (with respects to the author).
There is very little coding but it includes the redirect in the head for unknown reasons.
Possibly the original index.htm has been edited rather than replaced.

Customer and Forum Moderator. Windows 10 Firefox 87.0 (64-bit)

bibin
Newbie
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎16-12-2007

Re: Dreamweaver upload

Yea I didnt really do any coding on it, just wanted to see if it worked. Well, guess that piece of coding did all the damage. Thanks a million.
Strat
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 30,328
Thanks: 3,305
Fixes: 505
Registered: ‎14-04-2007

Re: Dreamweaver upload

You're very welcome.

Customer and Forum Moderator. Windows 10 Firefox 87.0 (64-bit)