cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Domain transfer away from Plusnet - 2

glandorescilly
Dabbler
Posts: 18
Thanks: 2
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎16-03-2015

Domain transfer away from Plusnet - 2

I added a post to an original post by another user asking for a domain transfer away from Plusnet which has now had a response from @willcutforth but no word about my identical query. So I've posted it below and hope to get a response this time.

 

I've had my legacy domain name since September 1999 when it came with my Freenetname dial up account. It then passed to Madasafish and is now held by Plusnet.

I am moving house at the end of next week and Plusnet cannot fulfil my present contract (which doesn't expire until next year) so I have been allowed to terminate the contract without penalty so I can move to a new ISP.

I need to move www.glandore.co.uk from Plusnet to Mythic Beasts where I have set up a new account for this purpose.

Please can someone from the Plusnet team help me?

Thank you,

Lois Ann

15 REPLIES 15
willcutforth
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 1,574
Thanks: 598
Fixes: 99
Registered: ‎27-11-2020

Re: Domain transfer away from Plusnet - 2

Hey there @glandorescilly Really sorry I didn't respond. It's manic over here at the moment. I have sent you an email now to the account. If you reply to the ticket I will action it for you Smiley

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Will Cutforth
 Plusnet Help Team
glandorescilly
Dabbler
Posts: 18
Thanks: 2
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎16-03-2015

Re: Domain transfer away from Plusnet - 2

Thanks Will, I'm very grateful.

Where shall I look for your email? Is it a private message here on the forum or did you send it to the gmail address associated with my Plusnet account? Nothing has come through yet.

Lois Ann

willcutforth
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 1,574
Thanks: 598
Fixes: 99
Registered: ‎27-11-2020

Re: Domain transfer away from Plusnet - 2

You're very welcome! Can you try logging into here for me please? Broadband Internet, Cheap line rental, free calls, and competitive international rates from Madasafi...

 

The reason why is because it should be on there as well. Let me know if you can't

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Will Cutforth
 Plusnet Help Team
glandorescilly
Dabbler
Posts: 18
Thanks: 2
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎16-03-2015

Re: Domain transfer away from Plusnet - 2

Thanks Will, the message was there. (I haven't logged in to Freenetname/Madasafish in quite some time!)

I look forward to an update on Monday.

Thanks again,

Lois

willcutforth
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 1,574
Thanks: 598
Fixes: 99
Registered: ‎27-11-2020

Re: Domain transfer away from Plusnet - 2

Awesome glad it's there, are you able to just respond to it so I can get it actioned by the team? Smiley

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Will Cutforth
 Plusnet Help Team
glandorescilly
Dabbler
Posts: 18
Thanks: 2
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎16-03-2015

Re: Domain transfer away from Plusnet - 2

My ticket has been delayed for the third time. It's now not going to be dealt with until Thursday 12th October. Given that my Plusnet broadband contract finishes on Saturday 14th October and I will no longer be a Plusnet customer, it is becoming increasingly urgent that this is dealt with as soon as possible.

Fingers crossed!

Lois

willcutforth
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 1,574
Thanks: 598
Fixes: 99
Registered: ‎27-11-2020

Re: Domain transfer away from Plusnet - 2

Thanks for your patience @glandorescilly it should all be done now for you.

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Will Cutforth
 Plusnet Help Team
glandorescilly
Dabbler
Posts: 18
Thanks: 2
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎16-03-2015

Re: Domain transfer away from Plusnet - 2

Hi Will,

Sorry for the radio silence, moving has been a lot more chaotic than I expected!

I checked my Mythic Beasts Control panel and it still shows force9 on the server for glandore.co.uk. Do I have to change a setting to move it to Mythic Beasts?  Can they do it for me or can you do it?

I'm still receiving emails addressed to the glandore.co.uk domain as usual on Mozilla Thunderbird (as of 2pm today). The POP mailserver for those emails is  mail.freenetname.co.uk which, in theory, should no longer exist because Freenetname was swallowed up long ago. Is that hosted by Plusnet and how do I change it?

Obviously, I'm a bit confused about the move.

Thanks.

MisterW
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 15,439
Thanks: 5,954
Fixes: 423
Registered: ‎30-07-2007

Re: Domain transfer away from Plusnet - 2

Moving the domain registration doesnt change the namservers, that's deliberate. You should use the Mythic control panel to set the required  configuration of the Mythic namservers, then switch the domain to use their nameservers

Superusers are not staff, but they do have a direct line of communication into the business in order to raise issues, concerns and feedback from the community.

willcutforth
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 1,574
Thanks: 598
Fixes: 99
Registered: ‎27-11-2020

Re: Domain transfer away from Plusnet - 2

What @MisterW said. Everything has been done on our side now and it's all done on Mythic Beasts side now Smiley

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Will Cutforth
 Plusnet Help Team
Penny
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 1,335
Thanks: 828
Fixes: 8
Registered: ‎05-04-2007

Re: Domain transfer away from Plusnet - 2


@glandorescilly wrote:

I checked my Mythic Beasts Control panel and it still shows force9 on the server for glandore.co.uk. Do I have to change a setting to move it to Mythic Beasts? 


 

@glandorescilly 

The domain-diagnosis page at https://www.domaindiagnosis.com/index.php?query=glandore.co.uk will show you which bits of your set-up still need changing.

 

At Mythic Beasts, log in then go to https://www.mythic-beasts.com/customer/hosting/ and click on your account.
There will be a setting in the inch-deep block across for each domain name, called 'Domain & DNS', this is where the nameservers can be changed.


Other settings in that same block (e-mail addresses etc.) should allow you to change whatever else needs changing.

.

Penny Rollo * * * joined Force9 on 17/02/98 * * * with PlusNet from 2000 onwards * * * personal website at pennymidasrollo.plus.com
Project HappyChild website (free educational resources for kids and schools, plus directory of charities helping children) 1998 onwards
Superusers are not PlusNet staff but do have a direct line of communication into the business to raise issues, concerns and feedback from the Community.
greygit1
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 380
Thanks: 55
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎26-06-2023

Re: Domain transfer away from Plusnet - 2

Just trying to move a domain.

 

https://www.domaindiagnosis.com/index.php?query=pixin.co.uk

 

I could get nominet involved but they want to charge. They know my address (as does Plusnet).

 

The PN account associated with it? Snail mail works.

 

Yes, I could leave Plusnet as the registrar, And benefit from free renewal of the registration. But the e-mail has to move. And it appears that Plusnet has a reduced set of people with 'clue'.

 

MatthewWheeler
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 8,958
Thanks: 1,567
Fixes: 481
Registered: ‎01-01-2012

Re: Domain transfer away from Plusnet - 2

Hi @greygit1 

If you can drop me a PM with the details of who you want to transfer it to I'll see if we can get that sorted for you

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Matthew Wheeler
 Plusnet Help Team
greygit1
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 380
Thanks: 55
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎26-06-2023

Re: Domain transfer away from Plusnet - 2

Cheers. PM sent. Hopefully sufficient (and verifiable) info.

 

(Bonus for Plusnet is that won't be paying the domain renewal fees and once the transfer is complete they get to blow an old legacy account out of the proverbial water?)