cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Domain/sub , hosting, myphpadmin ?

xkerryx
Dabbler
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎18-07-2010

Domain/sub , hosting, myphpadmin ?

Hi there
got a domain with you,s  Shocked
Can i point the domain to my own dns EG     ns1.myserver.com , ns2.myserver.com .
i don,t get all this    "Left field Type Pri Right field" stuff  bit confusing for a novice  Embarrassed
In the past when ive reg Domains  i,ve just added ns1 /ns2 and added the domain in my cpanel and away i go.
i,ve been here but it all comfusing to me  Embarrassed
http://www.plus.net/support/hosting/domains/domain_admin_dns.shtml

If i can't point it away from my free webspace with you ,
What do you get with my freespace?
100mb space
?????   bandwidth.
php ?
databases   myphpadmin?Huh
when i go in my website setting its so basic just gives me my ftp login and Webspace Allocation .
plus how i make subdomains???
its not a very noob friendly setup  Shocked its 2010 
thanks

7 REPLIES 7
xkerryx
Dabbler
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎18-07-2010

Re: Domain/sub , hosting, myphpadmin ?

found phpmyadmin searching the forum
https://mysql.plus.net/index.php
but i can't login or make a database?
do i have to apply for a database??? 
are people magicly ment to know this stuff ?
ive seached with no look
https://www.plus.net/search/index.php?strSite=plusnet&rad=plusnet&strSearchString=mysql&searchSubmit...
been over my members center  nothing .
Grin
xkerryx
Dabbler
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎18-07-2010

Re: Domain/sub , hosting, myphpadmin ?

never mind reg another domain somewere else  all up and running in 30 min  $8.88 for .co.uk for 2 year Full http://www.namecheap.com
What came over me thinking of using plusnet for a domain ????? madness
plusnet = hopeless, overprice ,non noob frendly, google plusnet and 10000,s of complates and probs
can't even bill a creditcard right ,

i just get more and more disapointed with plusnet every month???

Chris
Legend
Posts: 17,724
Thanks: 598
Fixes: 168
Registered: ‎05-04-2007

Re: Domain/sub , hosting, myphpadmin ?

Quote
Can i point the domain to my own dns EG     ns1.myserver.com , ns2.myserver.com .

Unfortunately not, our domain hosting system doesn't allow for a domain to be registered with us but not hosted with us.
Quote
If i can't point it away from my free webspace with you ,
What do you get with my freespace?
100mb space
Huh???   bandwidth.
php ?
databases   myphpadmin?Huh
when i go in my website setting its so basic just gives me my ftp login and Webspace Allocation .
plus how i make subdomains???

I'm not actually sure why your account has any webspace as we don't offer it for customers on our current products as per the table here: http://www.plus.net/support/hosting/webspace/webspace_faq.shtml#availability
Quote
https://mysql.plus.net/index.php
but i can't login or make a database?
do i have to apply for a database???  

The webspace on your account (which shouldn't actually be there) is for static content only, PHP, ASP etc won't work on there.
Quote
never mind reg another domain somewere else  all up and running in 30 min  $8.88 for .co.uk for 2 year Full http://www.namecheap.com

Unfortunately we're not a domain registration company so the charges aren't as low as other places. We do have a sister company called Just The Name where you can register a .co.uk domain for £9.99 for 2 years (http://www.just-the-name.co.uk/pricing.shtml).
Quote
i just get more and more disapointed with plusnet every month???

Is there anything else I can help you with?
Former Plusnet Staff member. Posts after 31st Jan 2020 are not on behalf of Plusnet.
xkerryx
Dabbler
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎18-07-2010

Re: Domain/sub , hosting, myphpadmin ?



I'm not actually sure why your account has any webspace as we don't offer it for customers on our current products as per the table here: http://www.plus.net/support/hosting/webspace/webspace_faq.shtml#availability
so i,m  paying 1 pound amonth for a domain which is no good to me????Huh
Chris
Legend
Posts: 17,724
Thanks: 598
Fixes: 168
Registered: ‎05-04-2007

Re: Domain/sub , hosting, myphpadmin ?

You can use the domain for your email addresses instead of your plusnet email address, and as mentioned earlier your account does have webspace on it so you can use it but only for static html content rather than dynamic PHP/ASP pages.
Former Plusnet Staff member. Posts after 31st Jan 2020 are not on behalf of Plusnet.
xkerryx
Dabbler
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎18-07-2010

Re: Domain/sub , hosting, myphpadmin ?

Quote from: Chris
You can use the domain for your email addresses instead of your plusnet email address, and as mentioned earlier your account does have webspace on it so you can use it but only for static html content rather than dynamic PHP/ASP pages.

yer thanks
if i knew this before i would not have got a domain.
itsme
Grafter
Posts: 5,924
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎07-04-2007

Re: Domain/sub , hosting, myphpadmin ?

Quote from: Chris
Quote
Can i point the domain to my own dns EG     ns1.myserver.com , ns2.myserver.com .

Unfortunately not, our domain hosting system doesn't allow for a domain to be registered with us but not hosted with us.

What hosting are you referring to? PN does not allow nameservers to be changed on domains that are registered with them but you can host the web site elsewhere by changing the DNS records.