cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Desperate website probs from ignoramus

Highlighted
Newbie
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎04-08-2007

Desperate website probs from ignoramus

I’m having great problems setting up as I can’t find answers to any of my questions.
I have built a website using Magix who offer space free for a year, but now it is ready I want to put it on my Plusnet space and I don’t know how. Can anyone help me with this please?
Secondly:
The domain name below is the one I want to use but at the moment my friend, who lives abroad, has registered it for me and built a website for me using his ISP? which is Globalnet, I think. I want him to use another domain name I have registered for the site he has built and transfer this domain name to Plusnet for me so that I can use it on the website I have created. Is this possible and if so can you give me simple instructions on how to do all this, please?
Looking forward to your advice,
Regards,
Chris Jones
 
www.apartmentintenerife.info

9 REPLIES 9
Highlighted
Grafter
Posts: 96
Registered: ‎30-07-2007

Re: Desperate website probs from ignoramus

Chris
Do you have an FTP client to upload your website to PlusNet? If you check out the Member Centre it gives you details of your webspace. I use WS_FTP Professional but I think they have a free option. I am sure a search on the web would come up with something. Plus Net host my website and it can be reached via  http://www.davidklyne.plus.com/ although I do have a domain http://www.caravantravels.co.uk/ for which I use a redirection service via www.seem.co.uk
Not sure if this helps.
David
Highlighted
Newbie
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎04-08-2007

Re: Desperate website probs from ignoramus

Thanks for the help Klyne. I  have ftp.plus.net and this is the inflormation I have so far: FTP setting PlusNet setting
Host address:   ftp.plus.net
Website (for viewing):   http://www.username.plus.com
Port:   21
Username:   Same as dial up
Password:   Same as dial up
Initial remote directory:   blank or /htdocs
Remote Host type:   auto detect or UNIX (standard)
Further details for some of the most popular FTP clients:
I have my website for viewing. It is www.chrisandpete.plus.com ; but I don't know how to move the website which I created with Magix Website maker onto  this space.
To make things more difficult I have a domain name that a friend bought for me on his account in Tenerife when he helped me to build a site while over there. It is www.apartmentintenerife.info and it is up and running. I want him to give that site a new domain name (which I also already have) and transfer this one to the new one because it's on my business cards. I think he can do that once I have sorted where the new one is going.
Also, I changed my login password with Plusnet when they had email problems but I have discovered that they didn't change the one I use for this login so I don't know which is classed as my 'dial up' password. Great fun isn't it!
Anyway, tahnk you so much for replying. It is really appreciated.
regards,
Chris Jones





Highlighted
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 898
Thanks: 463
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎05-04-2007

Re: Desperate website probs from ignoramus

Quote from: Chrisandpete
Thanks for the help Klyne.

Hi Chris,
Did you manage to figure everything out from the portal help guide?  If not I could give you some very simple instructions - none of what you want to do is "difficult" but when I first started I had to be talked through it (by Kevin R, then in Support) literally step by step.
Nine years down the track it's all somewhat easier Smiley but happy to help if you're really stuck.
Regards,
Penny.
Penny Rollo * Force 9 from 17/02/98 * PlusNet from 2000 onwards
Project HappyChild - free maths worksheets, free French-English
worksheets and 12 other languages
personal site www.pennymidasrollo.plus.com
Highlighted
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,577
Thanks: 3
Registered: ‎13-04-2007

Re: Desperate website probs from ignoramus

Your site  www.chrisandpete.plus.com just has the plus net page saying the site isnt up yet and the other page is the most blotted webpage I have seen in 18 years.  I would scap it and start again as it was done with publisher and has lines and line of rubbish code.
From the portal you can setup were your domain will point which can be htdocs which makes you plus net page and the domain the same page or you can point it at a directory of htdocs like mydomain.
From the portal you can import a domain so that would bring the other domain over and again you can  set it up to any directory
Highlighted
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 898
Thanks: 463
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎05-04-2007

Re: Desperate website probs from ignoramus

Quote from: Chrisandpete
I’m having great problems setting up as I can’t find answers to any of my questions.
I have built a website using Magix who offer space free for a year, but now it is ready I want to put it on my Plusnet space and I don’t know how. Can anyone help me with this please?

Quote from: samuria
Your site  www.chrisandpete.plus.com just has the plus net page saying the site isnt up yet and the other page is the most blotted webpage I have seen in 18 years.  I would scap it and start again

Chris didn't ask for a website critique, he just asked for info as to how to get his webpage on line.
I am tbh dumbfounded that a new customer just trying to find out the very basics of uploading a page should have been met with such a response.
I have to say that in over three years of using the PUG forums http://usergroup.plus.net/forum/index.php - a similar set of forums run by fellow PN-group customers, for all PlusNet's customers  - I have *never* seen anyone's website attempts rubbished in this way.
Obviously things operate differently in this "Community Site" where "bright-spark-status" apparently means you can be as disparaging as you like.
Sorry guys, really not impressed. I realise this will not be a welcome comment/post so I'm going now before the flak starts  Roll_eyes
Penny Rollo * Force 9 from 17/02/98 * PlusNet from 2000 onwards
Project HappyChild - free maths worksheets, free French-English
worksheets and 12 other languages
personal site www.pennymidasrollo.plus.com
Highlighted
Grafter
Posts: 411
Registered: ‎25-06-2007

Re: Desperate website probs from ignoramus

If you use Firefox it has a fantastic add-on called Fire FTP for doing website transfers etc.I think it's brilliant.
http://fireftp.mozdev.org/
http://fireftp.mozdev.org/help.html
Highlighted
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,699
Registered: ‎30-07-2007

Re: Desperate website probs from ignoramus

Hi
Silly question.  Do you have the web site on your computer for upload?  Or is it just online at the old domain?
John
Highlighted
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,577
Thanks: 3
Registered: ‎13-04-2007

Re: Desperate website probs from ignoramus

In reply to Penny any comments are aimed at helping customers and his page is so bloated that it is unbelievable. What I did was whats known as constructive criticism and this will help him to develop a better website.
If no one tells him he may never know and his site would suffer as such. The only way to learn is if someone points out your failings so you can improve and we must all accept feedback everyday in some form or we wont progress. Even if you have done web sites for years there is always something new and you can learn from others which is the main purpose of the Forum.
If we all new everything then we wouldn't need the Forum being a bright spark simply means I know more than some and less than others but all bright sparks give our time for free to help others
 
Highlighted
Grafter
Posts: 370
Registered: ‎01-08-2007

Re: Desperate website probs from ignoramus

Have you seen this tutorial in regards to Webspace:
http://usertools.plus.net/tutorials/id/31

Do you have ccgi activated on your PlusNet account?
This would make it possible to install e.g. Mambo or Joomla, which are good content management systems (they say for the masses; which is us). This way it is not necessary to learn html. For Mambo is an excellent PlusNet tutorial available, which enables anyone to install it. Joomla is similar and there are several threads in the old PlusNet forum on the PlusNet Member page.
Mambo tutorial: http://usertools.plus.net/tutorials/id/55
Joomla tutorial, see e.g.here: http://portal.plus.net/central/forums/viewtopic.php?t=56592

In regards to the domain to point to PlusNet see this: https://portal.plus.net/support/domains_and_dns/hosting/domain_hosting.shtml
Basically you or your friend need to log in wherever the domain is registered and change the nameservers to PlusNet:
The 4 nameservers of PlusNet are:
ns1.force9.net
ns2.force9.net
ns2.plusnet.co.uk
ns1.plusnet.co.uk
The domain will then point to PlusNet and you can decide in the domain control tool if you then want it to direct to your www-space or your ccgi-space.
To the critique that the webpage is done with publisher - this is really a Trojan horse, unless just used for a few pages. The code is bloated to the extreme, what otherwise would be a few lines only. I have experienced critique in the PlusNet forum always as very helpful, and I would listen to it. It helps to avoid to burn fingers and waste one's time with unnecessary and obsolete things. Better being told it direct than to live in an illusion.
Hope this is of help.
Wink
Wink