Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

DNS and changing domain host

Be3G
Grafter

DNS and changing domain host

Hi all,
I'm not an expert at the inner workings of DNS so I'm wondering if someone can help me here please. I have a domain which I registered with 1&1 but which is currently hosted by Plusnet, however, I would soon like to move the domain's hosting back to 1&1. (Well, sort of – I'm glossing over some details, but they won't matter here.) Now, I know that normally when making a DNS change – e.g. adding or removing individual records – one has to allow 48 hours (or more!) for the change to propagate around the internet's DNS servers. However, what I'd like to know is, does a change of the domain's hosting – i.e. the actual nameservers it uses – still involve that period of flux? Put another way, does the change happen close enough to the root of the DNS ‘path’ for the change to be picked up on quickly, or will I still have to wait a while for caches around the internet to update?
Thanks in advance for any light shed on the topic. Smiley
8 REPLIES 8
thisoldman
Grafter

Re: DNS and changing domain host

Hello Be3G  sorry i dont have exact reference but computeractive covered this a few weeks ago so........its in.......

http://forums.computeractive.co.uk
[Moderator's note by Dick (Strat) URL fixed.
Be3G
Grafter

Hmm well I looked back a couple of months and couldn't find anything relevant, though thanks anyway.
Be3G
Grafter

For what it's worth, I've just read Wikipedia's article on name servers and it's given me enough information to conclude that caching would still occur so… query solved. Smiley
Gabe
Grafter

Yes, in one sense, there's still a period of propagation because caching nameservers will still associate the domain with the ip address they got from your old Plusnet nameservers. If the Plusnet nameservers and new 1&1 nameservers are both pointing at the same 1&1 ip address then the propagation should be invisible.