cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

DIRECT- Network Appeared

PhyllisTyne
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 609
Thanks: 37
Fixes: 3
Registered: 30-08-2007

DIRECT- Network Appeared

Just noticed a new network available in my house. It is called DIRECT- and is password protected. The signal seems very strong in some parts of my house and is on Channel 1 which is the channel I have my network set to. There are now new devices in the house that might use a direct connection. Wondering if a neighbour has something. How can I try to find out what and where it is? I can see a MAC address 96:a1:a2:64:14:6b

TIA

PT

4 REPLIES
southerner
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 521
Thanks: 48
Fixes: 1
Registered: 27-11-2013

Re: DIRECT- Network Appeared

Sounds like a Roku WiFi Direct signal. I remember my Roku using that naming convention. It might be something else but that came to mind 1st for me.
PhyllisTyne
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 609
Thanks: 37
Fixes: 3
Registered: 30-08-2007

Re: DIRECT- Network Appeared

Thanks. I did see suggestions that a Roku might do that but mine doesn't and it seems the network name is usually formatted DIRECT-roku-###

southerner
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 521
Thanks: 48
Fixes: 1
Registered: 27-11-2013

Re: DIRECT- Network Appeared

Can you view the properties of the signal? That should give you a manufacturer which is usually another clue.
PhyllisTyne
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 609
Thanks: 37
Fixes: 3
Registered: 30-08-2007

Re: DIRECT- Network Appeared

no, wifi analyzer just reports <Local Admin>

 

Strangely is also does this for my guest network. My 2.4 and 5G networks report <TP-LINK Technologies> as I might expect.