cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Corrupted files

DerekF
Newbie
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎18-01-2011

Corrupted files

This is my premier posting about a problem encountered with my first website, so please be patient.
Before embarking on this new thread I spent about five hours trawling through the 47 pages in this segment. I found lots of potentially useful topics on the way, but nothing remotely like the problem I have encountered. To explain the problem I need to recount a little history:
I have created a site for a specialist car club using NetObjects Fusion. It looks 'perfect' in Local Publish and was duly transferred to my web space via FileZilla, with no apparent problems. The site opened happily in about five different browsers, but the Feedback Form wouldn't perform. After much searching in the NOF forum I discovered that the form was .php. I therefore obtained CGI access and reloaded the site. On checking the new upload the form still wouldn't perform. That was undoubtedly due to my fundamental ignorance and the absence of any meaningful basic guidance. When I posted the problem about my form on the NOF forum I was advised to use 123contactform.com for HTML code replace the PHP, which I duly did, abandoning the CGI version for now.
In order to avoid any further problems occurring as a result of my ignorance I returned to the HTML server and deleted the whole site containing the old form. I then created a clean set of files and folders on my PC before uploading the modified site from scratch. Here's the crunch: many JPEG files and all the PDFs are corrupt. I assume that remnants of the old files have been retained on the server and are combining with the new to create corrupt images. I deduce that because one of the photos is definitely two parts combined, but misaligned. Is there any way of getting in to my webspace and making a clean delete, as you do on a PC?
Sorry to be so longwinded, but I'm trying to avoid blind alleys. You can view the mess at: <www.pariskkm.force9.co.uk>
Thanks in anticipation of some guidance,
Derek.
10 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,031
Fixes: 62
Registered: ‎15-06-2007

Re: Corrupted files

The link just goes to an index page with nothing on it.
To delete everything - have you tried FireFTP on Firefox with show hidden files selected under Tools/Options
DerekF
Newbie
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎18-01-2011

Re: Corrupted files

Thanks for a quick response. I hadn't looked at the site since last night; the forum trawling took all this morning. Everything has disappeared. Perhaps the server cache has been cleared o'night. Incidentally, Filezilla is set to 'force hidden files'.
Better put this thread on hold for now.
Derek.
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 9,880
Thanks: 1,244
Fixes: 71
Registered: ‎06-04-2007

Re: Corrupted files

You should be able to delete unwanted content using FileZilla.
To delete files or directories, right click them and select Delete, and it looks like this worked for you. Sometimes FileZilla can apparently display content which has been deleted because it shows you a cached list of directory content. Moving somewhere else in the file system, refreshing the list then looking again usually demonstrates that deletion did take place.
It's possible the corrupted content occurred through being transferred as ASCII instead of Binary. FileZilla normally gets this right if Transfer type is set to Auto on the Transfer menu, but the choice relies on file extensions being correct.
David
DerekF
Newbie
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎18-01-2011

Re: Corrupted files

Thanks for both responses. Unfortunately I didn't see the last one until after I had uploaded, with the same result, ten minutes ago. I will try again with the FTP prog set to 'binary', which I assume is preferable to 'auto', although I must have had a reason for setting it to 'ASCII' in the first place; for CGI perhaps.
Watch this space!
Derek.
DerekF
Newbie
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎18-01-2011

Re: Corrupted files

Here I am, again. Tried 'binary' first and could only see the blank index page. Deleted everything and tried 'auto', with the same result. At this rate I shall run out of daily allowance. Previous to yesterday I was at least getting the site up, albeit with corrupted banner, photos and PDFs. Now I can only get the Home page with placeholders, nothing else. I'm bewildered.
Perhaps I should explain the sequence I'm using:
1. Delete content in Preview and Local Publish folders
2. Publish locally to harddrive
3. Connect to Force 9 with transfer method as stated above
4. Upload folders and files from Local Publish folder.
What am I not doing and should be, or doing and shouldn't be?
Derek.
Help please.
Derek.
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 9,880
Thanks: 1,244
Fixes: 71
Registered: ‎06-04-2007

Re: Corrupted files

Having looked at your home page content, file extensions look to be normal ones and transferring the files to homepages with Transfer type set to 'auto' should be OK. It's very rare that I have to use a different setting. Couldn't see anything wrong with the steps you are following (but I'm not familiar with Cold Fusion).
At the moment I get 'access forbidden' if I try to navigate anywhere else, and images don't display for the same reason. Just wondering if the problem is something like that but you see part of an image because it's cached somewhere.
David
DerekF
Newbie
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎18-01-2011

Re: Corrupted files

Hello, yet again,
"At the moment I get 'access forbidden' if I try to navigate anywhere else, and images don't display for the same reason. Just wondering if the problem is something like that but you see part of an image because it's cached somewhere.
I have seen references elsewhere (but I don't recall where) to an obscure file called 'htaccess' which is often hidden. I have 'Force hidden files' set on Filezilla, but could one of those be the problem? Another thought: is it worth altering the permissions to 755 throughout until this problem is solved?
Another thought: I have an unused domain registered with Force 9. Is it worth trying an upload to that as a temporary measure?
Derek.
DerekF
Newbie
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎18-01-2011

Re: Corrupted files

Another thought: is it worth altering the permissions to 755 throughout until this problem is solved?
I did that... and the problem is solved.  Grin  What should I set the permissions at for reliable security commensurate with continuing performance?
Derek.
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 9,880
Thanks: 1,244
Fixes: 71
Registered: ‎06-04-2007

Re: Corrupted files

Yep, can see images and navigate now. Grin
On homepages (ccgi is different):
directory permissions from htdocs downwards should be 755.
file permissions should be 644.
Suitable selections on the FileZilla (Change) File Attributes menu allow each of these to be set recursively.
David
David
DerekF
Newbie
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎18-01-2011

Re: Corrupted files

Thanks David and all who have contributed to help me achieve success.
Derek.  Smiley Smiley