cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Connecting fibre modem to Ethernet using ADSL/VDSL patch cable?

pnuser1
Hooked

Connecting fibre modem to Ethernet using ADSL/VDSL patch cable?

Hi everyone,

I have a BT FTTC master socket which connects to my BT fibre modem via RJ-11 and my landline phone. I have my house wired for CAT6 Ethernet and two RJ-45 network sockets near the BT master socket.

In order to try and move my router and modem away from the master socket so they can be connected to my UPS under the stairs, I've connected the RJ-11 on the BT master socket to one of the RJ-45 Ethernet sockets using an ADSL/VDSL patch cable and the fibre modem's RJ-11 socket to a different RJ-45 Ethernet socket using another ADSL/VDSL patch cable. However, I can't get any internet connectivity (internal LAN works fine) nor a dial tone on my landline.

Is what I'm attempting to do even possible? If so, what could the problem be and how might I go about solving or working around it?

12 REPLIES 12
MisterW
Superuser
Superuser
Fixes: 385

Re: Connecting fibre modem to Ethernet using ADSL/VDSL patch cable?

Are the RJ45 Ethernet sockets connected point to point or via a switch ? If the latter then it's not going to work. You could leave the modem near the master socket and connect the LAN port to the RJ45 socket , then move the router to one of the other sockets.

Superusers are not staff, but they do have a direct line of communication into the business in order to raise issues, concerns and feedback from the community.

Baldrick1
Fixes: 415

I'm totally confused with your description so let's start again.