cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Change to new BTw Speedtest & BTw DSL Checker

Highlighted
Pro
Posts: 3,097
Thanks: 153
Fixes: 8
Registered: ‎01-06-2010

Change to new BTw Speedtest & BTw DSL Checker

You might noticed that BTw has changed new site for BTw speedtest and BTw dsl checker.

 

For fetching bras ip profile rate - Click go for speedtest then click Additional Diagnostic then click 'I have a Fibre to the Premises Broadband' to enter your telephone number and wait for the page reload itself for your bras ip profile on your line.

Click here: https://speedtest.btwholesale.com/

Bras IP ProfileBras IP Profile

 

Here is new BTw dslchecker click here: https://www.broadbandchecker.btwholesale.com/#/ADSL

BTw DSL CheckerBTw DSL Checker

11 REPLIES 11
Highlighted
Pro
Posts: 1,440
Thanks: 113
Fixes: 3
Registered: ‎19-02-2014

Re: Change to new BTw Speedtest & BTw DSL Checker

Typical BTw they have their Additional diagnostics options the wrong way around, selecting FTTC tries an FTTP test and the FTTP test is what gives the FTTC results.   

Highlighted
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 29,625
Thanks: 3,068
Fixes: 460
Registered: ‎14-04-2007

Re: Change to new BTw Speedtest & BTw DSL Checker

The initial speed test appears to be giving better (faster) results.

 

Customer and Forum Moderator. Windows 10 Firefox 79.0 (64-bit)

Highlighted
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 29,625
Thanks: 3,068
Fixes: 460
Registered: ‎14-04-2007

Re: Change to new BTw Speedtest & BTw DSL Checker

Moderators Note
This topic has been moved from Fibre Broadband to Everything Else.

 

 

Customer and Forum Moderator. Windows 10 Firefox 79.0 (64-bit)

Highlighted
Pro
Posts: 1,440
Thanks: 113
Fixes: 3
Registered: ‎19-02-2014

Re: Change to new BTw Speedtest & BTw DSL Checker

The speed test does appear to give the correct results which it hasn't done for a while now, they just need to put the correct further diagnostic tests with the correct options. 

Highlighted
Hero
Posts: 4,489
Thanks: 1,183
Fixes: 24
Registered: ‎30-07-2008

Re: Change to new BTw Speedtest & BTw DSL Checker

The 'clean' and 'impacted' VDSL figures for my line seem optimistic compared to the old format.

Bear in mind that double negatives are a complete no-no
Highlighted
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 8,607
Thanks: 1,970
Fixes: 131
Registered: ‎30-07-2007

Re: Change to new BTw Speedtest & BTw DSL Checker

I'm intrigued by the Max observed speeds? Mine show 68 down and 17 up, but I'm on a 40/10 connection. I That limits the sync speeds , so how does it observe speeds above that ? 

Highlighted
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 8,015
Thanks: 948
Fixes: 388
Registered: ‎01-01-2012

Re: Change to new BTw Speedtest & BTw DSL Checker

@MisterW I believe it's based on the max attainable rate reported by the router. A check on my parents line who are on 40/10 but could get 80/20 shows the same

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Matthew Wheeler
 Plusnet Help Team
Highlighted
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 8,607
Thanks: 1,970
Fixes: 131
Registered: ‎30-07-2007

Re: Change to new BTw Speedtest & BTw DSL Checker

@MatthewWheeler  thanks, I guessed it might be using that.

 

Highlighted
Pro
Posts: 1,440
Thanks: 113
Fixes: 3
Registered: ‎19-02-2014

Re: Change to new BTw Speedtest & BTw DSL Checker

Seems BTw have fixed the Additional Diagnostic selection options, picking FTTC now goes to the correct tester and same for FTTP. 

Highlighted
Pro
Posts: 3,097
Thanks: 153
Fixes: 8
Registered: ‎01-06-2010

Re: Change to new BTw Speedtest & BTw DSL Checker

No, they haven't fixed it yet (upload speed and ping are incorrect) need more work on it

Highlighted
Pro
Posts: 1,440
Thanks: 113
Fixes: 3
Registered: ‎19-02-2014

Re: Change to new BTw Speedtest & BTw DSL Checker

I wasn't talking about the Tester itself I was talking about the Additional diagnostic options that were the wrong way around being fixed.