cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Ceasing PlusNet Broadband and Line Rental but Port Existing Landline Number

FIXED
jdmanonamission
Newbie
Posts: 2
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎16-01-2019

Ceasing PlusNet Broadband and Line Rental but Port Existing Landline Number

Hi all!

 

 

An imminent house move is forcing us to cease our long term subscription with plusnet, as we are (for an unknown period of time) moving back with family who already have a landline and broadband in the property, plus they live some distance from us.

 

I haven't yet contacted plusnet to cease our contract as we dont yet have a completion date for our sale. I use my landline number for business purposes and have researched ways of keeping this, with the intention of porting it over to the below company:

 

https://www.virtuallandline.co.uk/blog/item/keep-phone-number-landline-porting

 

Can anyone help with my best way of handling this situation to make sure I can port the landline number over to the above company when the time is right whilst also ceasing my contract for the line rental and broadband? Who should I instruct first? I know I am out of any tie in period with plusnet ages ago.

 

Thank you

 

James

5 REPLIES 5
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 7,491
Thanks: 1,340
Fixes: 83
Registered: ‎30-07-2007

Re: Ceasing PlusNet Broadband and Line Rental but Port Existing Landline Number

Fix

Hi @jdmanonamission a voip provider such as virtuallandline can only port an 'active' number so you should not cancel your service with PlusNet. When you are ready you should request that virtuallandline to port the number. This will automatically request a cease of the PlusNet landline and the associated broadband. They (PN) should at that point send you a 'sorry you are leaving'  and ask you to confirm the number port and broadband cease.

I'm sure one of the PN help staff will be along shortly to advise formally.

Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 13,385
Thanks: 4,126
Fixes: 665
Registered: ‎21-04-2017

Re: Ceasing PlusNet Broadband and Line Rental but Port Existing Landline Number

Hi James.

Sorry to hear you're having to leave us.

@MisterW has it spot on.

I'd recommend leaving the cancellation of your broadband/phone service to the VoIP provider to handle as the export of your telephone number will automatically cease your phone service and therefore your broadband too.

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Anoush Mortazavi
 Plusnet Help Team
jdmanonamission
Newbie
Posts: 2
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎16-01-2019

Re: Ceasing PlusNet Broadband and Line Rental but Port Existing Landline Number

Thank you MisterW and Gandalf for teh swift replies!

 

Having not done this before I didnt know which to do first but that all makes sense!

 

Have no fear Gandalf - if I am treated well on my exit, I shall without doubt be back to PlusNet as soon as I can!!

Highlighted
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 7,491
Thanks: 1,340
Fixes: 83
Registered: ‎30-07-2007

Re: Ceasing PlusNet Broadband and Line Rental but Port Existing Landline Number

@jdmanonamission you're welcome

Having not done this before I didnt know which to do first but that all makes sense

I actually have done it before, I ported the office numbers from BT to a voip system and so know how it's supposed to (and does!) work.

 

Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 13,385
Thanks: 4,126
Fixes: 665
Registered: ‎21-04-2017

Re: Ceasing PlusNet Broadband and Line Rental but Port Existing Landline Number

 

@jdmanonamission wrote:

Thank you MisterW and Gandalf for teh swift replies!

Having not done this before I didnt know which to do first but that all makes sense!

Have no fear Gandalf - if I am treated well on my exit, I shall without doubt be back to PlusNet as soon as I can!!

 No problem at all.

It's likely you're going on a Quest, so remember:

Mithrandir.jpg

 

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Anoush Mortazavi
 Plusnet Help Team