cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Cannot connect to host via filezilla [Solved] now other CMDPrompt issues

TORPC
Grafter
Posts: 5,163
Registered: 08-12-2013

Cannot connect to host via filezilla [Solved] now other CMDPrompt issues

With my previous ISP I had no problem connecting to my host @ http://one.com
For a while I had been using the hosts online file manager for light modifications as its not great at full D/load > back up to HDD or external media thats where Filezilla comes in handy.
I keep getting connection lost
[code=txt  file=Conection with server closed prematurely]Connecting to probe.filezilla-project.org
Response: 220 FZ router and firewall tester ready
USER FileZilla
Response: 331 Give any password.
PASS 3.5.3
Response: 230 logged on.
Checking for correct external IP address
IP XXX.XX.XXX.XX1 xxx-xx-xx-xxx
Response: 200 OK
PREP 53442
Response: 200 Using port 53442, data token 1903877656
PORT 46,208,128,181,210,114
Connection lost
Connection closed
[/code]


Edit:
My host seemed to think I was not using Filezilla client after I provided proof
[code=txt file=Transcript of online chat with host]Hyla: Thank you for using One.com 24/7 Interactive Online Support. My name is Hyla. How may I assist you?
you: Hi Hyla
Hyla: Hello there
you: What is the port number to via Filezilla (so used to your new file manager I forgot)
Hyla: Please use ftp port 21
you: Filezilla is saying it could not parse server address, invalid port given
Hyla: Can you please make sure that you are using filezilla client and not the filezilla server ?
Hyla: You can download filezilla client here instead"
Hyla: https://filezilla-project.org/download.php
you: Yes I am using 3.5.3 fileziller client
you: FileZilla Client ---------------- Version: 3.5.3 Build information: Compiled for: i586-pc-mingw32msvc
Compiled on: x86_64-unknown-linux-gnu Build date: 2012-01-08 Compiled with: i586-mingw32msvc-gcc (GCC) 4.2.1-sjlj (mingw32-2)
Compiler flags: -g -O2 -Wall -g -fexceptions Linked against: wxWidgets: 2.8.12 GnuTLS: 2.10.4 Operating system:
Name: Windows Vista (build 6002, Service Pack 2) Version: 6.0 Platform: 32 bit system
you: which I have used many times before but not now Sad
Hyla: Can you please check that you ftp passive mode is enabled in filezilla ?
you: sure ill see if I can locate it
Hyla: okay
you: Its set to passive with the fallback to other transfer mode on failure (ticked)
you: on the next page it says use servers IP address instead or fallback to active mode
Hyla: I think you are not using filezilla client
you: I recently change ISP could it be a closed port issue ?Huh
you: From the Help > copy to clipboard > paste in here > FileZilla Client ---------------- Version: 3.5.3 Build information:
Compiled for: i586-pc-mingw32msvc Compiled on: x86_64-unknown-linux-gnu Build date: 2012-01-08
Compiled with: i586-mingw32msvc-gcc (GCC) 4.2.1-sjlj (mingw32-2) Compiler flags: -g -O2 -Wall -g -fexceptions
Linked against: wxWidgets: 2.8.12 GnuTLS: 2.10.4 Operating system:
Name: Windows Vista (build 6002, Service Pack 2) Version: 6.0 Platform: 32 bit system [/code]
That was when I gave up and closed the chat as I should not have to provide proof twice within a short chat and realised I was not going to get anywhere fast
6 REPLIES
pwatson
Rising Star
Posts: 2,468
Thanks: 8
Fixes: 1
Registered: 26-11-2012

Re: Cannot connect to host via filezilla

This is going to be a setting at your end (and this thread should really be in Windows Software?)  PN do not block access...
Can you open an ftp connection manually ie type "ftp <hostname>,one.com" at a command prompt?  You've posted the dialogue from a connection to probe.filezilla.org - Can you post the log for connecting to your host?
TORPC
Grafter
Posts: 5,163
Registered: 08-12-2013

Re: Cannot connect to host via filezilla

in CMD Prompt
[code=txt file=From CMD Prompt]Microsoft Windows [Version 6.0.6002]
Copyright (c) 2006 Microsoft Corporation.  All rights reserved
C:\Users\Comp1>ftp torfaenpcrepair.com
> ftp: connect :Connection timed out
ftp> open torfaenpcrepair.com
> ftp: connect :Connection timed out
ftp>
[/code]
I have tried CMD Prompt with elevated privileges and same result
I have been able to access it from a browser window and type my username / password and can see and access the files
I can Ping the FTP server without issue(s)
No issue(s) with tracert FTP
FileZilla is not giving me any log(s)
pwatson
Rising Star
Posts: 2,468
Thanks: 8
Fixes: 1
Registered: 26-11-2012

Re: Cannot connect to host via filezilla

Times out from here as well, as does ftp://torfaenpcrepair.com in a browser...
What URL works for you in a browser?
A thought, from another thread - Have you got the firewall turned on in the PN Member Centre?
TORPC
Grafter
Posts: 5,163
Registered: 08-12-2013

Re: Cannot connect to host via filezilla

in google chrome browser it is
ftp://ftp.torfaenpcrepair.com
It turned out to be a bad update to FileZilla after uninstalling / re-installing it now works
My bad  Embarrassed I had not tested it since it was last updated
However still have the same issue in CMD Prompt so half solved Smiley
PlusNets online FireWall is turned on in both Basic & Advanced are set to Low
In the Advanced Low does block Ports 20, 21
Quote

Low
Block all incoming traffic to ports that are often abused. These include ports 20, 21, 25, 80, 111, 135, 137, 138, 139, 445, 515, 1080, 1433, 3128, 3306, 6000, 8080. Find out more

However I can now use Filezilla to connect but not CMD Prompt ?Huh


Edit:
Fixed broken URL
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,718
Thanks: 931
Fixes: 10
Registered: 10-04-2007

Re: Cannot connect to host via filezilla

If you changed the Plusnet firewall settings did you do a disconnect/connect in your router to activate the change?
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
TORPC
Grafter
Posts: 5,163
Registered: 08-12-2013

Re: Cannot connect to host via filezilla

I have changed the Advanced setting to off for testing
Disconnected via the router GUI and hit a snag
It took me straight to the login page and will not allow me to log back in to Reconnect
Switched router Off / On now able to connect to internet
However
Lost access to Router GUI
Going to try a telnet
Telnet comes back Invalid UserName/Password
Closing connection
Will factory reset the router and edit report Smiley


After a factory reset
I can access the router GUI
&
Telnet into router
but
Still can not not access my site via CMD FTP
tried the Disconnect / Reconnect
& stops me from logging back into the router GUI and Telnet
Any attempts to access any webpages takes me to the router login page until I either turn router Off / On or Factory reset the Router
Thus preventing me from using the Disconnect / Reconnect facility Sad
Can we safely say that I have 2 dodgy routers ?? see my other thread in Broadband and Routers