cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Can I use BOTH Master and Extension Socket in my Flat

fred5
Dabbler
Posts: 22
Registered: 14-08-2018

Re: Can I use BOTH Master and Extension Socket in my Flat

Hi

I have plusnet fibre unlimited, does it warrant to buy a new router/modem in terms of speed and/or overall stability of wifi?

BW

Fred

Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 12,515
Thanks: 3,817
Fixes: 25
Registered: 22-08-2007

Re: Can I use BOTH Master and Extension Socket in my Flat

Note Archer A3 should have read D2 Embarrassed

I understand if people use them if there is no other way. But you will never ever get a faster speed and reliability through powerline than through a proper dedicated ethernet cable

That all depends - if the ethernet ports are not Gigabit, then that is not always going to be true, for Ethernet then tops out at 100mbps.  IIRC the ethernet ports on the Plusnet Hub One are only 100mbps, therefore decent Ethernet over power ought not to be an issue.  There neds to be insight into why people return products - which part of the use is defective - the product or people's knowledge / understanding?  Yes some of the cheap ones are rubbish, but you get what you pay for.  I have used Devolo devices (which are not cheap £100+) where running Ethernet has been totally impractical, like for example to an outbuilding (barn).  That site had two broadband services, one in to the main building, the other into the outbuilding - the Devolo devices enabled one building to use the other building's internet connection in the event of one failing.  Never an issue.

 

It sounds as though this boils down to "Due to the nature of the property's construction Wifi does not have the reach / penetration to cover other rooms".  Are you certain that is true, rather than just that (in that environment) the Plusnet router's wifi is just not adequate?  Given that you work in IT retail, do you have access to other devices you might try?  Look for "Range Max" type products.

 

You have not said what type / quality of cable connects the master socket to the extension socket, nor if you need to use that socket for a telephone, rather than using a DECT system connected at the master socket?

If this is modern twisted pair phone cable, then there ought to be no significant degradation if you please the modem there, so long as the "extension" is wired to the AB connections on the faceplate.  Which NTE5 and face plate have you got?

If it is cat5 grade cable and you know what you are doing, you could repurpose that cable to be an Ethernet connection.  Would need enough slack at the master socket end to pull it out to a new connection box and two ethernet port plates.

Wifi bridging is a viable option, but personally I would opt for Ethernet over Power first.

Browni
Aspiring Hero
Posts: 2,277
Thanks: 771
Fixes: 45
Registered: 02-03-2016

Re: Can I use BOTH Master and Extension Socket in my Flat

@Townman, the Ethernet ports on the Hub One are gigabit.
I must have been really bad in a previous life as this was my 3rd ISP in a row that used lithium.
Now you're stuck with me because my new ISP doesn't run a forum Cheesy
fred5
Dabbler
Posts: 22
Registered: 14-08-2018

Re: Can I use BOTH Master and Extension Socket in my Flat

Hi

I wouldn´t need Gigabit ethernet when not even reaching 40Mbps do I.

 

Community Veteran
Posts: 1,538
Thanks: 258
Fixes: 33
Registered: 13-08-2015

Re: Can I use BOTH Master and Extension Socket in my Flat

It depends on what you have connected to your router, and what you use the LAN side for. I found Gigabit a useful addition with a NAS connected to it.

fred5
Dabbler
Posts: 22
Registered: 14-08-2018

Re: Can I use BOTH Master and Extension Socket in my Flat

hi

just 2 computers, no NAS. The network is really just for internet.

Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 12,515
Thanks: 3,817
Fixes: 25
Registered: 22-08-2007

Re: Can I use BOTH Master and Extension Socket in my Flat


@fred5 wrote:

Hi

I wouldn´t need Gigabit ethernet when not even reaching 40Mbps do I.

 


If you take that perspective, then Ethernet over Power is not likely to be the suggested performance issue.  Though not as fast as the potential of Gigabit Ethernet (assuming the PC can drive that speed) it is far faster than your down link.

 

fred5
Dabbler
Posts: 22
Registered: 14-08-2018

Re: Can I use BOTH Master and Extension Socket in my Flat

Hi

I have plusnet fibre unlimited, does it warrant to buy a new router/modem in terms of speed and/or overall stability of wifi?

BW

Fred

Dan_the_Van
Rising Star
Posts: 327
Thanks: 8
Fixes: 1
Registered: 25-06-2007

Re: Can I use BOTH Master and Extension Socket in my Flat

Hello,

 Do you need the Plusnet Hub One next to the master socket for any reason? Depending on the make of faceplate being used you may have a data output connection on the back of the faceplate which provides an unfiltered output to an extention socket.

Another option would be remove the existing faceplate and replace with a single socket version and at the extention socket using a ADSL filter dongle connect the Hub One there.

 Dan.

 

fred5
Dabbler
Posts: 22
Registered: 14-08-2018

Re: Can I use BOTH Master and Extension Socket in my Flat

Hi

yeah I need the Hub One here, because my work station is next to it needing broadband via ethernet.

 

 

Reverting back to my other question, could someone recommend if a upgrade router/modem instead of the HUB one would be beneficial in terms of Wifi stability and/or general internet speed?

BW

Fred

Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 12,515
Thanks: 3,817
Fixes: 25
Registered: 22-08-2007

Re: Can I use BOTH Master and Extension Socket in my Flat

General internet speed - not likely.

WiFi possibly, depends what you buy - as an IT retailer I’d have thought you would be well placed to know how different WiFi types perform.

I’m confused on your needs here - on the one hand you want to keep the router at the master socket, but want an Ethernet connection at your PC somewhere else. These requirements imply challenges... over which you need to make choices...

Place the modem / router at the master socket and run an Ethernet cable to the PC.

Place the modem / router at the master socket and use Ethernet over power to put an Ethernet port (and WiFi AP depending on model) near the PC.

Rewire the phone extension so that it is not filtered and install the router there.

Somewhere you are going to have to make a compromise.
fred5
Dabbler
Posts: 22
Registered: 14-08-2018

Re: Can I use BOTH Master and Extension Socket in my Flat

Hi

I have already mentioned that the workstation is next to the master, hence I need the router there.

Furthermore, both sockets are the new double sockets, so apparently both are filtered. 

I just wondered if I can use the extension and get the signal from there for another hub/switch etc. I´m not an electrician so I am not sure if I am able to rewire the faceplate.

I have access to many items and some experience, but I´m not specialised in this sort of network equipment, hence the questions.

If I put in a new cable (ethernet) will that be connected via the WAN slot on the Hub one, to another hub/switch? Furthermore, if I want an extension for both Wifi and LAN in another room, what exactly am I looking for an extender, access point, hub, router switch?

Thanks for your help.

BW

Fred

 

Baldrick1
Seasoned Champion
Posts: 1,546
Thanks: 659
Fixes: 50
Registered: 30-06-2016

Re: Can I use BOTH Master and Extension Socket in my Flat

You cannot use the telephone extension to feed another router.

For an extender I would use a router configured as an Access Point as this will give you both wireless and Ethernet sockets.  If you do not feel confident fiddling with settings then you need to make sure that the router has an Access Point mode. I believe that most TP Link, Netgear and Asus ones do. Just find one that fits your budget and check the manual, which you will find on the web.

The Access Point should be connected to one of the Hub One yellow LAN sockets via your new Ethernet cable. Connecting to the AP varies so read the manual.

Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 12,515
Thanks: 3,817
Fixes: 25
Registered: 22-08-2007

Re: Can I use BOTH Master and Extension Socket in my Flat

If both phone sockets are filtered, you need to check carefully how the master is wired. The extension might be unfiltered from the master.
Highlighted
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,538
Thanks: 258
Fixes: 33
Registered: 13-08-2015

Re: Can I use BOTH Master and Extension Socket in my Flat

Or maybe you have some sort of botched star wiring - either way, two filtered master sockets is very wrong, and you are likely not to get optimal speeds.

Look very carefully where the wired come into your property and trace them as best as you can.