cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

CGI newbie!

stalyD

CGI newbie!

I'm completely new to using CGI, so please bear with my probable apparent stupidity!
I'm working through the Mark Lutz's book "Programming Python" (from O'Reilly), and I've just got as far as writing the first very, very basic CGI script.  This works fine running a basic webserver on my own machine, but I can't get things to work correctly from my PlusNet cgi space.
In my root folder on the server, I have an index.html file, which just reads
<html>
<title>Interactive Page</title>
<body>
<form method=POST action="cgi-bin/cgi101.py">
  <P><B>Enter your name:</B>
  <P><input type=text name=user>
  <P><input type=submit>
</form>
</body></html>
I have also put an empty file called .htaccess in the folder.  The permissions on both files are set to 640, as recommended.
In my cgi-bin folder I have cgi101.py which reads:
#!/usr/bin/python
import cgi
form = cgi.FieldStorage()
print('Content-type: text/html\n')
print('<title>Reply Page</title>')
if not 'user' in form:
    print('<h1>Who are you?</h1>')
else:
    print('<h1>Hello <i>%s</i>!</h1>' % cgi.escape(form['user'].value))
There is also another empty .htaccess file, with permissions set to 640.
The index.html page displays OK.  If I set the permissions on cgi-bin/cgi101.py to 700 (as recommended on the PlusNet help pages), then when I click on the "Submit" button I get an Error 403 (Access Forbidden!) page.
If I set the permissions on cgi-bin/cgi101.py to 777, then I can access the script, but Firefox tries to download it.
Where have I gone wrong?  Or is it simply that PlusNet doesn't support Python scripts?
David
4 REPLIES 4
spraxyt
Resting Legend
Fixes: 75

Re: CGI newbie!

Nearly there but not quite as you discovered  Roll_eyes