cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Before I raise a ticket ...

avatastic
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,136
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎30-07-2007

Before I raise a ticket ...

I have a few questions about PN hosted domains.
1) Can I keep them with PN as the registrar, but change the DNS servers registered with Nominet?
2) In requesting the change can I provide the IP addresses to PN to give to Nominet for the NS Glue?
3) Can I also provide the IPv6 addresses of the servers to give to Nominet for the NSv6 Glue?
If the answer is yes to all 3, can I reference this post in my ticket?
Cheers.
A.
F9 member since 4 Sep 1999
F9 ADSL customer since 27 Aug 2004
DLM manages your line the same way DRM manages your rights.
Look at all the pretty graphs! (now with uptime logging!)
5 REPLIES 5
Midnight_Caller
Rising Star
Posts: 4,154
Thanks: 9
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎15-04-2007

Re: Before I raise a ticket ...

I think the answer to 1 is no, so the answer to 2 will be no as well, plus the answer to 3 will be no as well.
avatastic
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,136
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎30-07-2007

Re: Before I raise a ticket ...

I was suspecting as much, since there doesn't seem to be an option anywhere to change the registered DNS servers on the free domains.
123-reg do offer the ability to change the IPv4 glue online, I'll ticket their support and see if they can push through an update that includes the IPv6 glue as well.
If not ... its off to find a cheep registrar that can do the IPv6 glue.  Undecided
F9 member since 4 Sep 1999
F9 ADSL customer since 27 Aug 2004
DLM manages your line the same way DRM manages your rights.
Look at all the pretty graphs! (now with uptime logging!)
Midnight_Caller
Rising Star
Posts: 4,154
Thanks: 9
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎15-04-2007

Re: Before I raise a ticket ...

Move it to 123-reg problem solved.
bobpullen
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 15,042
Thanks: 2,693
Fixes: 171
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: Before I raise a ticket ...

Quote from: Midnight
I think the answer to 1 is no, so the answer to 2 will be no as well, plus the answer to 3 will be no as well.

That's a fair assumption.

Bob Pullen
Plusnet Product Team
If I've been helpful then please give thanks ⤵

avatastic
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,136
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎30-07-2007

Re: Before I raise a ticket ...

Apologies for the image but ...

[strike]It appears that http://www.fasthosts.co.uk will allow you to set IPv6 (AAAA) glue records for .co.uk domains, whilst being a resonably priced registrar and free host/free control panel for management.[/strike]
Fasthosts failed to deliver, http://www.hexonet.net, whilst having a bit of an odd interface, do allow this.
F9 member since 4 Sep 1999
F9 ADSL customer since 27 Aug 2004
DLM manages your line the same way DRM manages your rights.
Look at all the pretty graphs! (now with uptime logging!)