cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Basic website building and latest ways to do things advice sought

moreofthesame
Grafter

Basic website building and latest ways to do things advice sought

I have the home/broadband £15/month package at plusnet and want to create/write a webpage for a new startup home based business - nothing special, more of a "see how it goes" so I don't need anything too fancy.
What are the current tools for this? I currently write HTML manually, I would like to add a FORM but that usually needs scripts on the server ( I'm just wanting to avoid putting my email addy online for scammers to harvest) - are basic scripts like this available to my level of service?
I'm not a novice but have been away from the internet for some time and lost touch with the latest ways of doing things.
thanks in advance
David
15 REPLIES 15
Midnight_Caller
Rising Star
Fixes: 1

Re: Basic website building and latest ways to do things advice sought

@moreofthesame, have a look at: Help & Support For Beginners
Word_Warrior
Grafter

While there is plenty of software out there to create a site you cant beat a good grounding in HTML a great book to help give you an understanding of what you are doing and will help you avoid bad code is the visual quickstart guide to HTML from peachpit press. Read that and you'll understand why certain things are done, before long you'll be diving in and changing code to tailor it to your needs. Use it alongside the help and support for beginners.
Above all have fun with it.
I've now graduated onto php/mysql content management which uses free software from Joomla.org but you need to learn the ropes first and that sort of server space isn't available on your broadband package as far as I know.
Ben_Brown
Grafter