cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Advice on PHP5 + MySQL4

dbriggs1950
Dabbler

Advice on PHP5 + MySQL4

As a PHP/MySQL newbie, I have got myself on the technical review panel for a new book on PHP and MySQL. I have just run into a problem - the sample code in the book requires PHP5 and MySQL4. PlusNet doesn't support PHP5 yet. So, I would be grateful for any suggestions as to how I can:-
1 - Convert those pesky mysqli_* function calls into something that will run on PHP4 in my PlusNet webspace
or
2 - Get a PHP5+MySQL4 setup running elsewhere (I have a bunch of PCs running XP, 2K, though no Servers, even a Vista Ultimate VMware virtual machine). I don't really want to spend any more cash on service providers...
Thanks for any suggestions,
David
11 REPLIES 11
Strat
Community Veteran
Fixes: 565

Re: Advice on PHP5 + MySQL4

Maybe it's on it's way David...fingers crossed Smiley
http://community.plus.net/forum/index.php/topic,67441.0.html
Windows 10 Firefox 109.0 (64-bit)
To argue with someone who has renounced the use of reason is like administering medicine to the dead - Thomas Paine
samuria
Grafter

You can install php and mysql on your own pc it doesnt take up much room or memory or you can run it on a virtual pc. You need a webserver for which you can use IIS or any free server.
There are plenty of free host that offer the service if you want to try it on the web
IanQ
Grafter

If you are running XP download the free Xampp from http://www.apachefriends.org/en/xampp.html
This installs the Apache webserver, MySQL and PHP5 on your pc. You can then try your web site and php scripts on your own pc which saves uploading them to your webspace to try them. It also has the option to switch to PHP 4 if you want.
dbriggs1950
Dabbler

Thanks to everyone for those rapid replies. Obviously, I wasn't the last to go to bed last night!