Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Add an MX record

FIXED
brainstorm
Fixes: 1

Add an MX record

HI recently I wanted to renew my Microsoft Action Pack subscription but they now require me to be a Global Admin... to do this I need (for some reason) to add a TXT record to my domain, which Plus Net don't allow. However they do allow adding an MX record.

Sadly though the place where you add the record has 4 fields to fill in, namely, Left Field, Type, Pri, and Right Field.

So on the MS site it says (https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/office365/admin/get-help-with-domains/create-dns-records-at-any-dns...) ... Not being a network person but more a vba developer I'm a bit lost.

I think Left Field should be @, Type = MX, Pri (leave blank) but as for Right Field...??? 

If anyone can hep I'd be most happy - I'm sure it's not that difficult, really.

Cheers

Mark

5 REPLIES 5
Alex
Community Veteran
Fixes: 13

Re: Add an MX record

I am a bit of a newbie on all of this, so take what I say here with a massive pinch of salt and I am sure someone will correct me.

With MX I would set a Pri of say 10. That's if you have multiple servers the internet will try the one with the lowest priority first and if it can't reach that server it will try the others.

I use Office 365, and a handy site is MX Toolbox. This is what I have my domain set up as (personal details removed):

Pref Hostname IP Address TTL  
10 [Domain Removed].mail.protection.outlook.com 104.47.5.36
Microsoft Corporation (AS8075)
60 min Blacklist Check      SMTP Test

I only assume the right hand side is the hostname of where you need to get the mail delivered to. The IP address field has been looked up I assume so is not part of the MX record.

MisterW
Superuser
Superuser
Fixes: 392