cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Accessing Internet site from my Plusnet Hosting (CGI) site

DMD-LAW
Hooked
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎26-05-2019

Accessing Internet site from my Plusnet Hosting (CGI) site

Hi,

A couple of years ago I set up my Plusnet Hosting (CGI) site to pull a set of subscription news feeds into the website. I've just noticed that these feeds stop working at the start of year. I've just tested the configuration and it errors with message "cURL error 7: Failed connect to www.legalrss.co.uk:80", I've tested the feeds from a test site not hosted by PlusNet and they work there.

I guess something has changed in the CGI or network setup?

 

 

15 REPLIES 15
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Accessing Internet site from my Plusnet Hosting (CGI) site

@DMD-LAW - Welcome to the Forum.

The feeds you're using, are by your own admission subscription, and with the error you are getting this tells me that your subscription has in fact expired.

DMD-LAW
Hooked
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎26-05-2019

Re: Accessing Internet site from my Plusnet Hosting (CGI) site

Hi,

The URI of the feed on LegalRSS contains the subscription details (which I did not post for obvious reasons), as I said it works from another hosting platform.

 

Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Accessing Internet site from my Plusnet Hosting (CGI) site

OK, have you tried changing the URl to use the HTTPS protocol?

DMD-LAW
Hooked
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎26-05-2019

Re: Accessing Internet site from my Plusnet Hosting (CGI) site

Hi,

Thanks for the suggestion, both HTTP and HTTPS work on my alternate hosting platform, neither work on PlusNet...

Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Accessing Internet site from my Plusnet Hosting (CGI) site

Fair enough, but worth a try if nothing else. I don't have Plusnet CGI so I can't help but maybe @MauriceC can help.

Gandalf
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 26,563
Thanks: 10,265
Fixes: 1,599
Registered: ‎21-04-2017

Re: Accessing Internet site from my Plusnet Hosting (CGI) site

Hi there.

I'm sorry to hear you're having issues with your CGI webspace.

If you can PM me your account username I'll be happy to look into this for you.

From 31st October 2022, I no longer have a regular presence here as I’ve moved on to a new role.
Anoush Mortazavi
Plusnet
MauriceC
Resting Legend
Posts: 4,085
Thanks: 929
Fixes: 17
Registered: ‎10-04-2007

Re: Accessing Internet site from my Plusnet Hosting (CGI) site

Hi @DMD-LAW 

 

Sorry that I cannot be of direct help, I've not used my CGI space since it migrated to Hostopia.

I have done a bit of research and this link may be of help.

Superusers are not staff, but they do have a direct line of communication into the business in order to raise issues, concerns and feedback from the community.

DMD-LAW
Hooked
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎26-05-2019

Re: Accessing Internet site from my Plusnet Hosting (CGI) site

Hi,

Been doing a little investigation. tested I could resolve the dns entry in php...

 

[code]

<?php

function dns_lookup($domainname) {
$sdip = gethostbyname($domainname );
$sddomain = gethostbyaddr($sdip);
print "<p>Requested FQDN : $domainname<br/>";
print "IP: $sdip<br/>";
print "Domain: $sddomain<br/></p>";
}

# initial test
dns_lookup("www.microsoft.com");
dns_lookup("www.google.co.uk");
dns_lookup("www.plus.net");
dns_lookup("www.dmd-law.co.uk");
dns_lookup("www.legalrss.co.uk");
?>

Got the following results

 

Requested FQDN : www.microsoft.com
IP: 23.212.229.47
Domain: a23-212-229-47.deploy.static.akamaitechnologies.com

Requested FQDN : www.google.co.uk
IP: 172.217.17.131
Domain: ams15s30-in-f3.1e100.net

Requested FQDN : www.plus.net
IP: 212.159.9.2
Domain: portal.plus.net

Requested FQDN : www.dmd-law.co.uk
IP: 91.136.8.9
Domain: hostedc50.megawebservers.eu

Requested FQDN : www.legalrss.co.uk
IP: 104.31.83.145
Domain: 104.31.83.145

 

Next I will try opening a connection...

OskarPapa
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 1,325
Fixes: 65
Registered: ‎09-10-2018

Re: Accessing Internet site from my Plusnet Hosting (CGI) site

Hi @DMD-LAW, thanks for getting back to us.

 

IIMH, hosting isn't one of my strong points and so I've raised the issue to our hosting admin team to see if they're able to assist.

 

I expect a response within the next 3-5 working days (usually much quicker than this) at which point I'll update this thread.

 

Please let us know if you need any further assistance in the meantime.

DMD-LAW
Hooked
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎26-05-2019

Re: Accessing Internet site from my Plusnet Hosting (CGI) site

Hi,

Thanks for getting back to me.. Here some more information.. Very interesting....

 

[code]

<?php

function dns_lookup($domainname) {
$sdip = gethostbyname($domainname );
$sddomain = gethostbyaddr($sdip);
print "<p>Requested FQDN : $domainname<br/>";
print "IP: $sdip<br/>";
print "Domain: $sddomain<br/></p>";
}

function get_curl( $url, $useragent = 'Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; rv:1.7.3) Gecko/20041001 Firefox/0.10.1', $loop = 10, $javascript_loop = 0, $timeout = 15 ) {
print "<p>Initialise curl for url $url<br/>";
$ch = curl_init();
curl_setopt( $ch, CURLOPT_USERAGENT, $useragent );
curl_setopt( $ch, CURLOPT_URL, $url );
curl_setopt( $ch, CURLOPT_FOLLOWLOCATION, true );
curl_setopt( $ch, CURLOPT_ENCODING, "" );
curl_setopt( $ch, CURLOPT_RETURNTRANSFER, true );
curl_setopt( $ch, CURLOPT_AUTOREFERER, true );
curl_setopt( $ch, CURLOPT_SSL_VERIFYPEER, false ); # required for https urls
curl_setopt( $ch, CURLOPT_CONNECTTIMEOUT, $timeout );
curl_setopt( $ch, CURLOPT_TIMEOUT, $timeout );
curl_setopt( $ch, CURLOPT_MAXREDIRS, 10 );
$content = curl_exec( $ch );
$reslen = strlen($content);
print "Curl result len $reslen;<br/>";
curl_close( $ch );
print "</p>";
return $content;
}


# initial test
dns_lookup("www.microsoft.com");
get_curl("www.microsoft.com");
dns_lookup("www.google.co.uk");
get_curl("www.google.co.uk");
dns_lookup("www.plus.net");
get_curl("www.plus.net");
dns_lookup("www.dmd-law.co.uk");
get_curl("www.dmd-law.co.uk");
dns_lookup("www.legalrss.co.uk");
get_curl("www.legalrss.co.uk");
?>

results....

 

Requested FQDN : www.microsoft.com
IP: 23.212.229.47
Domain: a23-212-229-47.deploy.static.akamaitechnologies.com

Initialise curl for url www.microsoft.com
Curl result len 172008;

Requested FQDN : www.google.co.uk
IP: 172.217.17.99
Domain: ams15s29-in-f3.1e100.net

Initialise curl for url www.google.co.uk
Curl result len 11377;

Requested FQDN : www.plus.net
IP: 212.159.9.2
Domain: portal.plus.net

Initialise curl for url www.plus.net
Curl result len 101735;

Requested FQDN : www.dmd-law.co.uk
IP: 91.136.8.9
Domain: hostedc50.megawebservers.eu

Initialise curl for url www.dmd-law.co.uk
Curl result len 34435;

Requested FQDN : www.legalrss.co.uk
IP: 104.31.83.145
Domain: 104.31.83.145

Initialise curl for url www.legalrss.co.uk
Curl result len 0;

 

EmilyD
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 2,032
Thanks: 357
Fixes: 117
Registered: ‎26-03-2018

Re: Accessing Internet site from my Plusnet Hosting (CGI) site

Hi @DMD-LAW,

 

Thank you for providing this additional information. We'll pass this on to assist with the investigation.

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Emily D
 Plusnet Help Team
DMD-LAW
Hooked
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎26-05-2019

Re: Accessing Internet site from my Plusnet Hosting (CGI) site

Hi,

 

Any update on this?

EmilyD
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 2,032
Thanks: 357
Fixes: 117
Registered: ‎26-03-2018

Re: Accessing Internet site from my Plusnet Hosting (CGI) site

Hi @DMD-LAW,

 

I'm sorry that you've not yet received an update on this. Our network team responded to the ticket here on 16/06 and a notification of this should have been sent to the contact email address on the account.

 

The team raised this to Hostopia - the third party that hosts our CGI - and received the following response from them:

 

" Please be informed that we do not support coding concerns. Kindly review your code or contact your current website developer in order to resolve this. Thank you for understanding on this matter, we value your cooperation. We have now closed the ticket in regard to this matter. If you require any further assistance, please do not hesitate to contact us and we will be happy to continue working with you "

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Emily D
 Plusnet Help Team
DMD-LAW
Hooked
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎26-05-2019

Re: Accessing Internet site from my Plusnet Hosting (CGI) site

Hi,

 

I've updated the ticket with the following feedback.

 

"The implication that this is somehow a coding issue is ridiculous. PHP dose not control the underlying network software stack and to have gone to the effort of writing additional code to provide this is a network/platform issue and have that then thrown back at me is extremely frustrating.

Please escalate this ticket back to Hostopia underlining the fact that I have clearly demonstrated this NOT a software development issue."

 

Having worked with outsourced vendors for many years, this has all the classic hallmarks of a support team being driven to close tickets as quickly as possible by SLA's and KPI's. As the ticket talk about code, close it as we don't support that.

I do expect more from Plusnet to ensure these tickets are fully investigated.