cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

2 Accounts - CCGI and CGI - Which to use?

andun84
Grafter
Posts: 229
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎01-08-2007

2 Accounts - CCGI and CGI - Which to use?

I seem to have two accounts created. One starts ccgi and the other cgi. I'm guessing it should be ccgi as all references I see in the migration notes refer to ccgi.
5 REPLIES 5
bobpullen
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 14,882
Thanks: 2,485
Fixes: 168
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: 2 Accounts - CCGI and CGI - Which to use?

The physical space each maps to is this same so it doesn't really matter. There are separate instances of the MySQL/FTP Manager etc. however the File Manager for each should be the same?
Basically http://cgi.username.plus.com and http://ccgi.username.plus.com point to the same place.
Does that make things a little clearer?

Bob Pullen
Plusnet Product Team
If I've been helpful then please give thanks ⤵

andun84
Grafter
Posts: 229
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎01-08-2007

Re: 2 Accounts - CCGI and CGI - Which to use?

Thanks Bob. Yes that's clear. I noticed that what I did on one seemed to match the other but good to have that confirmed.
stuck
Grafter
Posts: 87
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎21-05-2009

Re: 2 Accounts - CCGI and CGI - Which to use?

I too see both a ccgi and a cgi and from the above posts I now know it doesn't matter which I use, so I'll stick with ccgi but I have another question about cgi duplicates...
If I use the File Manager to look at the directory structure then in the left hand pane under \publc I see a folder called \CGI-BIN and a folder called \cgi-bin but in the right hand pane only the \cgi-bin folder is listed.  The contents of  \CGI-BIN and \cgi-bin appear to be the same (some pictures and a folder holding thumbnails).  Is that the way it is supposed to look?  Or can I delete \public\CGI-BIN and leave only \public\cgi-bin.  Or should I delete both because above \public in the left hand pane, i.e. within the root \ folder, there is another \cgi-bin folder (that one is empty).
stuck
spraxyt
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 10,063
Thanks: 1,369
Fixes: 75
Registered: ‎06-04-2007

Re: 2 Accounts - CCGI and CGI - Which to use?

On Plusnet ccgi  /cgi-bin was just an ordinary folder within the webroot ( / ). On Hostopia the webroot is /public and (the currently empty) /cgi-bin is parallel to it. So a relative reference from the webroot to ./cgi-bin wouldn't work. In case users have code that uses such references Hostopia have created directories to suit.
A URL like http://domain.com/cgi-bin/myprog.pl will be directed by the server configuration to the real /cgi-bin (which is empty). To cope with that you should find there's a .htaccess file in / with a mod-rewrite directive to send the request to /public/CGI-BIN/myprog.pl. However /public/CGI-BIN is a soft link to /public/cgi-bin where myprog.pl will be found.
It sounds complicated, but does/should work (hopefully my logic is correct  Huh ).
If you are satisfied none of your code requires /cgi-bin to be below the webroot (/public), and its contents do not include any PHP files you can move the content of /public/cgi-bin to the real /cgi-bin, remove /public/cgi-bin and /public/CGI-BIN, and disable  the .htaccess in /. The site should then function normally.
However it's up to you whether you want to follow this through, only yourself knows how your site works.
David
stuck
Grafter
Posts: 87
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎21-05-2009

Re: 2 Accounts - CCGI and CGI - Which to use?

Quote from: spraxyt
....only yourself knows how your site works.

Grin  Grin  Grin  If only that were true!  I know only enough to be dangerous.
However, thank you, from what you say I think I can safely pull the plug on the both of my \public\cgi-bin folders.
stuck