cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

1.6Gb available?

Tinkler
Dabbler
Posts: 23
Thanks: 10
Registered: ‎28-08-2022

1.6Gb available?

Hi all,
I was excited to see the openreach rollout of 1.6Gb down 120Mb up, and the new rebranded BT (EE) offering the tariff along side the existing 900Mb package.

Will Plusnet be also offering this tariff?


Regards
16 REPLIES 16
dvorak
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 29,651
Thanks: 6,668
Fixes: 1,485
Registered: ‎11-01-2008

Re: 1.6Gb available?


Moderators Note


This topic has been moved from Full Fibre to Everything Else

Customer / Moderator
If it helped click the thumb
If it fixed it click 'This fixed my problem'
davidj66
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 747
Thanks: 56
Fixes: 4
Registered: ‎04-09-2008

Re: 1.6Gb available?

In that "exciting" BT/EE announcement ,I note a lack of any mention of Plusnet broadband  Any bets on when we all get presented with the move to BT as a fait accompli ?Huh

Tinkler
Dabbler
Posts: 23
Thanks: 10
Registered: ‎28-08-2022

Re: 1.6Gb available?


while BT becomes the main brand for their Enterprise and Global units. Finally, Plusnet will continue to “serve customers with basic no-frills broadband and landline.”

 


 

ispreview.co.uk 

corringham
Seasoned Champion
Posts: 1,285
Thanks: 674
Fixes: 17
Registered: ‎25-09-2015

Re: 1.6Gb available?


@Tinkler wrote:
... Finally, Plusnet will continue to “serve customers with basic no-frills broadband and landline.”

Landline? Only for existing customers for a while - then no landline and no VoIP.

Baldrick1
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 11,943
Thanks: 5,322
Fixes: 421
Registered: ‎30-06-2016

Re: 1.6Gb available?


@Tinkler wrote:
I was excited to see the openreach rollout of 1.6Gb down 120Mb up,
Will Plusnet be also offering this tariff?

Apart from bragging rights, why/how would a residential user of a budget ISP's Internet connection want/need/use these incredible speeds?

Moderator and Customer
If this helped - select the Thumb
If it fixed it,  help others - select 'This Fixed My Problem'

corringham
Seasoned Champion
Posts: 1,285
Thanks: 674
Fixes: 17
Registered: ‎25-09-2015

Re: 1.6Gb available?


@Baldrick1 wrote:

 

 

Apart from bragging rights, why/how would a residential user of a budget ISP's Internet connection want/need/use these incredible speeds?

 

Well, I work from home, and have the need to download large files (100-200GB). When I had my Plusnet ADSL  (10Mbps download, 880kbps upload) it would max out the connection for a couple of days or so per file.

With my current 600Mbps (symmetric) FTTP connection it takes 30-60 minutes.

On average across a month my download rate is within the limits of my old ADSL connection. But the experience of having a 600Mbps connection is stunningly different.

Tinkler
Dabbler
Posts: 23
Thanks: 10
Registered: ‎28-08-2022

Re: 1.6Gb available?

Im not sure if this is tongue in cheek. I live in a very demanding household, with gamers, streamers, and content creators. And more importantly work from home.

In this modern era, I would have thought maximum bandwith and low latency is a given?

RealAleMadrid
Aspiring Hero
Posts: 2,762
Thanks: 1,433
Fixes: 59
Registered: ‎07-07-2009

Re: 1.6Gb available?

@Tinkler Do you actually have any network hardware that can handle speeds greater than 1Gbps ethernet. it can get expensive to get higher speeds. It's extremely unlikely that Plusnet will be offering the 1.6Gbps service.

corringham
Seasoned Champion
Posts: 1,285
Thanks: 674
Fixes: 17
Registered: ‎25-09-2015

Re: 1.6Gb available?


@Tinkler wrote:

In this modern era, I would have thought maximum bandwith and low latency is a given?


Actually, latency is a very important aspect I forgot to mention. Using a VPN to a remote (USA) company server, achievable bandwidth can be limited by the latency as the number of packets "in-flight" is usually capped. Changing from ADSL to FTTP lowered latency for my use from >200ms to ~110ms, making a significant difference to the user experience.

Low latency is also important for video conferencing - which with people working from home is pretty much a requirement these days.

corringham
Seasoned Champion
Posts: 1,285
Thanks: 674
Fixes: 17
Registered: ‎25-09-2015

Re: 1.6Gb available?


@RealAleMadrid wrote:

@Tinkler Do you actually have any network hardware that can handle speeds greater than 1Gbps ethernet. it can get expensive to get higher speeds. It's extremely unlikely that Plusnet will be offering the 1.6Gbps service.


I can't speak for @Tinkler , but I'd point out that you don't need >1Gbps ethernet to make full use of a 1.6Gbps connection. You just need several devices using <1Gpbs. And that tends to be the case with modern lifestyles (homeworking, Netflix, video conferencing, etc).

Tinkler
Dabbler
Posts: 23
Thanks: 10
Registered: ‎28-08-2022

Re: 1.6Gb available?

Apart from my pfsense firewall (that currently has no need), all my internals run on 10g and 2.5g switches with a mixture of CAT6 and fibre.

I get some people can manage fine on 100Mb, but lots of people can't due to busy households too.

 

RealAleMadrid
Aspiring Hero
Posts: 2,762
Thanks: 1,433
Fixes: 59
Registered: ‎07-07-2009

Re: 1.6Gb available?

@Tinkler  I don't think you are a typical Plusnet customer, 99% of them just want wi-fi. They think it's the internet.🙄

Tinkler
Dabbler
Posts: 23
Thanks: 10
Registered: ‎28-08-2022

Re: 1.6Gb available?

Surprised to hear this tbh.
I interpreted a 'No frills provider' = No unnecessary addons, costs and hand holding for experienced users that just need a service that works.
Baldrick1
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 11,943
Thanks: 5,322
Fixes: 421
Registered: ‎30-06-2016

Re: 1.6Gb available?

@Tinkler 

I wonder how many potential customers there are that meet your understanding of a no frills service that runs at 1.6Gb/s?

 

Moderator and Customer
If this helped - select the Thumb
If it fixed it,  help others - select 'This Fixed My Problem'