cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

my download has gone out of the roof and i'm not downloading

N/A

I'm so frustrated. I must have all the free virus, trojan etc downloads, but I still cannot get rid of all my virus'. It has totally slowed down my broadband (half the dial up speed and actually pay for superquick). whatever I have got on my system has disabled my norton and I cannot get it back! and although I have never downloaded loads (less than 2g a month) I am so far over 5g!!!!! This is definately not my doing. I am not technically minded but would love some help.

Things I have tried are Spybot S & D, Adaware, Antivir, Microtrend, Norton the list goes on!!!!!!
15 REPLIES
janitor
Grafter

Have you tried another anti virus such AGV or avast both do a free version, AGV is www.grisoft.com you wnat the free version not the paid for one, and cant remember the avast one . Maybe that will sort it out.
N/A

Also remember if you are running XP or ME to turn off system restore before removing any virii or malware. These things have a nasty habit of residing within system restore only to reinfect your system when you think it has been cleaned.
N/A

Thanks for quick response. Just downloaded and ran AVG. It did find things such as the IRC.Backdoor and a few other things. It deleted about 5 things and the rest it said was embedded!! Now it won't even let me run it again. As soon as I dble click to bring the programe up it shuts it off!!!!! Obviously does'nt like being threatened! Which reminds me It doesn't even let me go into my registry files.
janitor
Grafter

Have you tried switching off system restore as pcsni has said then reboot try antivrus again thenonce all is clear remember to turn system restore back on again.
N/A

Have a read at this tutorial by Peter.

It contains some excellent advice and more aptly, links to some online scanning apps or tools.

Well worth a read.
N/A