cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

htpassword

Julie
Grafter

htpassword

Please can someone help me, I have been trying to password protect a download on my site with an .htpassword file and it is not working.

I have searched the site, and no matter what I do I am still getting the download come up ...I cannot even get a login box.

The zip file is in its own sub directory directly in htdocs...I would be really grateful for some help please.

Many thanks
Julie
19 REPLIES
Community Veteran

htpassword

Do a search on this message board for .htpasswd there are lots of threads explaining how to do it.

Cheers

Peter Cool
Julie
Grafter

htpassword

Thanks for your reply, much appreciated
I have done that, and sorry for being dumb Shockedops:

But it's not working what am I doing wrong?? I have never done an htaccess file before, and I am tring to help someone out by linking this file and they want it password protected Cry

Cheers for any advice...is it the path, do you have to put the full path to the file?Huh
N/A

htpassword

Have a look at this htaccess tutorial - it covers using htpasswd.
Julie
Grafter

htpassword

Thanks...I have followed the tutorial...I am obviously doing something wrong...sorry for posting back again but its not working, please can someone help me

I am saving the file as .htpasswrd

copying the code and changing the path...but everything I try is not working Cry

many thanks
Julie
michaelscott
Grafter

htpassword

u also need an .htaccess file in the directory u are trying to protect.
Community Veteran

htpassword

I am saving the file as .htpasswrd

Are you sure that is what you called it in the .htaccess file - the normal name is .htpasswd (no r) although if that is what you called it in .htaccess it should be OK.

I think we need to see what you have put in .htaccess and .htpasswd (just remove any names you don't want us to know about but use another example in it's place).