cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

domains

maccman23
Dabbler
Posts: 13
Registered: 30-07-2007

domains

i want to host two co.uk domains with plusnet. i am on adsl home. can i do this and how much will it cost me?
what are the pitfalls/things to look out for?
anyhelp gratefully received 'cos this seems so confusing!

dave
13 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,983
Thanks: 8
Registered: 10-04-2007

domains

Hosting for both will be free and you should be able to get the first one registered and subsiquent renewals covered by the £1-00 per month charge.
See the My domains link on the left.

The second domain you will have to pay for registration so it may be cheaper to buy it elsware and then transfer it in.
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,983
Thanks: 8
Registered: 10-04-2007

domains

Well I must admit it's now got me confused as well :?
The mention of the £1-00 domain charge seems to have vanished from the portal. :?: There used to be an option of paying this or not in the Domain names bit.

It looks like this is no longer an option with the new account types. so I can only suggest raising a link:Contact us ticket to get this clarified.

The hosting for up to 3 domains should still be free though for you account type Smiley
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,983
Thanks: 8
Registered: 10-04-2007

domains

After a bit more "Digging" around the portal I have found This Page which mentions the "Optional Included domain". This used to be the £1-00 and it says that you can opt for this option when you sign for your account.

The question then is did you sign for that at the time and if not can you still take that option?

Not so long ago you could select wether or not you paid the £1-00 on the portal but it looks like you will now need to do as I suggest above and raise a link:Contact us ticked to find out Cry
maccman23
Dabbler
Posts: 13
Registered: 30-07-2007

webspace and domains

Thanks
i registered for this when i signed up. i have taken up the option.
is it cheaper for me to register with plusnet? i have been quoted £8:50 for two years with easyspace
Sooooooooooo( or maybe this is another forum!)
do i split my webspace to do this?( both sites will not take that much space) and how do i set it up?, is there an FAQ?
Community Veteran
Posts: 14,469
Registered: 30-07-2007

domains

There are several domain reg companies that are cheaper than even you have quoted. 1and1 I think charge £1.99. It is usually cheaper to register domains with specialist domain reg companies then just host the domain on plusnet.

You can point separate domains to separet directories on your www webspace. You do this via the domain names page (see left).

You can't do the same with your CGI or FP webspace though.
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,983
Thanks: 8
Registered: 10-04-2007

Re: webspace and domains

Quote
Thanks
i registered for this when i signed up. i have taken up the option.
is it cheaper for me to register with plusnet? i have been quoted £8:50 for two years with easyspace


As I mentioned in my first reply you should get the first domain free if you have already been paying the £1-00 per month on your subscription.

The second one would be cheaper to register from outside and then transfer the hosting only in, leaving the billing part with whoever you registered it with.

As Peter has said you can have as many domains as you like located in your normal webspace (htdocs). Just create directories for them and then set up the pointing using the Website settings option on the left.
maccman23
Dabbler
Posts: 13
Registered: 30-07-2007

webspace and domains

i am going to have to spend more time on these forums!!!!
the first one which i will get free i will register with plusnet?
the second one is for a club i am in and i am not the registered owner but i am hosting it on behalf of our club so i can just transfer that in.
thanks for your excellent help and to be honest the C/S at plusnet seem frightening efficient too.
maccman23
Dabbler
Posts: 13
Registered: 30-07-2007

mulrtple domains

i have sorted out the registration and it is ready to go but i have another problem.
i have a small site just personal stuff www.username.plus.com as well as a co.uk site. do i put the co.uk site into the /htdocs/ folder or the other way round so i can see both?

helping a dummy week
please give generously!

dave
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,983
Thanks: 8
Registered: 10-04-2007

domains

You should leave the www.username.plus.com one in the root of the htdocs folder (or at least the index.htm file for it)

Then create a subfolder for your new www.domain.co.uk for all its files and folders to live in.

Once this folder is setup go to the Domain Names on the left and follw the instructions to have your .co.uk one pointing to the new folder you have created.
This then keeps the domains seperate.
maccman23
Dabbler
Posts: 13
Registered: 30-07-2007

domains

Watson! I THINK YOU'RE ON TO SOMETHING!!

I had an idea i had to create a sub folder within the .plus.com folder. when i configured it, the page doesn't exactly say i have to manualy create a folder, so i didn't.
Thanks for all your help John
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,983
Thanks: 8
Registered: 10-04-2007

domains

Once you have got the domain pointing to your new folder then it takes up to 24 hrs for you to be able to see it there (PlusNet's server). And anything up to 2 or 3 days for it to be globaly visible as the information has to be updated on all the worlds servers Smiley
N/A

Everything Internet

Many thanks to John Essex. I followed his instructions and now have my website liz-don.com up and running - no worries as they say in Oz!
N/A

Re: domains

I bought my domain from 1and1
I think it's the cheapest and the best
you can go to http://www.easyshoppingonline.co.uk/ and select the 1and1 link
I bought my domains for $1.99 a year!

ciao,
Marco