cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Website construction

marchhare
Dabbler

Website construction

I am in the process of creating a website for my business. Having cut-and-pasted text from a Word document on to the webpages, I found that various aspects of format have disappeared, e.g. Bold, underlines for headings, simple tables, etc.. Nor can I create these differences when typing fresh text striaght on to the webpage.
Am I missing something obvious? I am a novice at this and would appreciate help!

Christine Baker
9 REPLIES
N/A

Website construction

Hi Christine,

Where to start.

I would suggest having a look at the Webspace Tutorials from the User Tools Site.

As well as some handy guides there is also a link to the Plus Net Web site builder, which whilst limited, is a great place for the novice to start.

Have a browse and if you have any further questions post back.
Community Veteran

Website construction

You have to learn HTML

Web pages are created using HyperText Markup Language. Web pages can't be created the same as as a word document, you have to tell the web browser using HTML tags how you want the text to be formatted on the screen and whether it should be displayed as bold, underline, in colour etc.

Do a google for HTML.

My suggestion is to go to your local book store and find a beginners guide on creating web pages or search the internet for the many on-line tutorials that exist on it.
JonathanW
Grafter

Website construction

Hi,

A good place to start online is w3schools.com As this has a fairly good introduction to HTML, along with various other resources that would help with learning the basics of putting together a page.
arlehaven
Grafter

Website construction

Smiley Hi Christine,
What software are you using or intending to use to create your site.
Frontpage is a good place to start. Might seem a bit complicated at first but it isn't really.