cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Web page help please

N/A

Web page help please

Please bear with me as I am new to all this.
I have uploaded a couple of pages to my web site to see if it will work O.K..
The problem is that when I try to view the page:-www.ceilidhband.plus.com
I get redirected to a plusnet page saying that nothing is on this site. When I try www.ceilidhband.plus.com/index.html -- then up comes the page. I have checked by going to the site with Cute ftp andthe pages are there. What have I done wrong? and how can I get the home page to show without having to type in the /index.html bit.
Cheers---John
15 REPLIES
Community Veteran

Web page help please

Hmm.. that should not happen. By default the web server should look for a page called index.html or index.htm in your htdocs directory so using your URL with or without the index.html should bring up the same page. Try copying the file as index.htm and see if it finds it with just your domain name.
N/A

Web page help please

Changed the index file to htm but it made no difference. Still will not show unless /index.htm is added.
Community Veteran

Web page help please

I would raise a contact us ticket and see what support say. I'm sure it should pick it up by default so something is not happening so your web config may be faulty in some way.
N/A

Web page help please

Caching is still in effect. I think you have to wait three days for your new page to appear, when the old version gets cleared from the cache.
zpeterk
Grafter

Web page help please

it works now
N/A

PlusNet Home Page

Well I'm glad it works for you, cos it certainly ain't working for me!

I've FTP'd my colleague's site to his Free Webspace on PlusNet and all I get is the PlusNet Holding Page. I have even deleted the PlusNet file (index.html) from the server! It seems that I can only access the site by including the filename after the URL.