cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Virus?

N/A

Virus?

Hi yesturday i got a virus attack the virus was called w32. blaster worm. My computer killed it becuase i have norton anti virus. But it keep happening amd suggestions were it could be coming from. Also i get a message some times saying save your work windows is shuting down in 1 mins time? Can some one explain to me what that is.

Thanks ps i am thick with computers
32 REPLIES
N/A

Virus?

N/A

w32.blasterworm

Hi

I am a support technician for a well known computer manufacturer, today we were inundated with grief stricken callers because of the worm.

:!: It only infects compters based on Windows NT (Windows NT, Windows 2000 & Windows XP)

It does indeed cause your PC to reboot after 1 or 2 minutes, this can be temporarily stopped however (to make a backup of your work)

:!: This is only a temporary measure to allow you to back up your important files & Documents Etc.

1. Start>>>run
2. Type services.msc
3. Click OK
4. Scroll down to Remote Procedure Call (NOT RPC Locator)
5. Double Click this
6. Click on the Recovery Tab
7. Select the 'Take no action' response in each of the 3 boxes
8. Click on the OK button

At the time writing the only way to rid yourself of this worm completely is to re-install windows completely and then to install a firewall (such as ZoneAlarm, Norton Personal Firewall Etc.)
The worm uses 1 of 3 ports to find it's way onto your PC (Port Nos 135, 139, 445) these ports need to be closed.

Regards
Wabbid Wabbit
Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Fixes: 1

Virus?

Hi,

We too have had a large number of our customers who have been affected by this virus.

You can download the patch to protect your operating system from Microsoft at this site

http://www.microsoft.com/technet/security/bulletin/MS03-026.asp

For anyone already infected, instructions and a tool to remove the virus are available at

http://www.f-secure.com/v-descs/msblast.shtml