cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Unable to access website

Cloudmaster
Grafter
Posts: 257
Registered: 01-08-2007

Unable to access website

Hi all,

Since returning from a trip to the US a few days ago I haven't been able to access www.precisionmanuals.com . I've tried clearing my cache / cookies & am running Firefox 1.0.7.

Can anyone else access this site?

Thanks
18 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 14,469
Registered: 30-07-2007

Unable to access website

No problems here with IE 6 or Mozilla 1.7.11.

Have you tried rebooting PC/routyer etc?

Tried disabling any software forewalls or virus scanners?

What do you actually get? Can you post a tracert to it?
Cloudmaster
Grafter
Posts: 257
Registered: 01-08-2007

Unable to access website

I've tried rebooting my router a few times.

I've tried disabling my firewall (Kerio Personal Firewall)

Firefox gives 'The page contains no data' error

IE gives 'Page not found' error

As stated before, I've tried clearing my cache / cookies in Firefox

Nothing has changed since I went on holiday so I can't understand how this problem has cropped up

Tracing route to www.precisionmanuals.com [66.221.47.170]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 * * * Request timed out.
2 16 ms 17 ms 15 ms lo0-plusnet.pth-ag3.plus.net [195.166.128.64]
3 16 ms 15 ms 17 ms ge0-0-0-403.pte-gw2.plus.net [84.92.4.2]
4 16 ms 15 ms 15 ms gi4-0-23.pth-gw2.plus.net [212.159.4.21]
5 16 ms 15 ms 15 ms 195.47.243.185
6 90 ms 89 ms 89 ms pos3-2.gsr12416.ash.he.net [216.66.0.94]
7 118 ms 119 ms 119 ms pos5-0.gsr12012.dal.he.net [66.160.184.13]
8 132 ms 128 ms 127 ms 216.218.217.182
9 * * * Request timed out.
10 * * * Request timed out.
11 * * * Request timed out.
12 * * * Request timed out.
N/A

Unable to access website

i can browse to it but cant trace

Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
(C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

C:\Documents and Settings\mark.PCSNI>tracert www.precisionmanuals.com

Tracing route to www.precisionmanuals.com [66.221.47.170]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 <1 ms <1 ms <1 ms gc._msdcs.pcsni.local [192.168.0.1]
2 1 ms 10 ms <1 ms 10.0.0.2
3 32 ms 35 ms 31 ms lo0-plusnet.pth-ag3.plus.net [195.166.128.64]
4 32 ms 30 ms 30 ms ge0-0-0-403.pte-gw2.plus.net [84.92.4.2]
5 31 ms 31 ms 30 ms gi4-0-23.pth-gw2.plus.net [212.159.4.21]
6 33 ms 31 ms 32 ms 195.47.243.185
7 105 ms 105 ms 104 ms pos3-2.gsr12416.ash.he.net [216.66.0.94]
8 132 ms 132 ms 133 ms pos5-0.gsr12012.dal.he.net [66.160.184.13]
9 144 ms 143 ms 142 ms 216.218.217.182
10 * * * Request timed out.
11 * * * Request timed out.
12 * * * Request timed out.
13 * * * Request timed out.
14 * ^C
C:\Documents and Settings\mark.PCSNI>

Weird
Community Veteran
Posts: 14,469
Registered: 30-07-2007

Unable to access website

I get the same tracert (once I get outside of the plusnet network) and fail at the same point (that router/server is just blocking pings) yet I can access the website fine.

Have you tried adjusting the MTU on the router to see if that makes a difference. Also having the same MTU on your PC as your router is also recomended. See http://www.kitz.co.uk/adsl/tweak.htm
holdtight
Grafter
Posts: 1,634
Registered: 15-06-2007

Unable to access website

I cant access the site either (firefox) it just times out and im getting similar results from a trace

Tracing route to www.precisionmanuals.com [66.221.47.170]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 16 ms 1 ms 1 ms 192.168.1.1
2 52 ms 32 ms 38 ms lo0-plusnet.ptn-ag2.plus.net [195.166.128.53]
3 45 ms 30 ms 48 ms ge1-0-0-204.ptn-gw2.plus.net [84.92.3.106]
4 49 ms 31 ms 31 ms ge0-0-0-23.pte-gw2.plus.net [212.159.4.26]
5 54 ms 32 ms 39 ms gi4-0-23.pth-gw2.plus.net [212.159.4.21]
6 47 ms 32 ms 47 ms 195.47.243.185
7 118 ms 105 ms 104 ms pos3-2.gsr12416.ash.he.net [216.66.0.94]
8 131 ms 141 ms 152 ms pos5-0.gsr12012.dal.he.net [66.160.184.13]
9 166 ms 179 ms 170 ms 216.218.217.182
10 * * * Request timed out.
11 * * * Request timed out.
12 * * * Request timed out.
13 * * * Request timed out.
14 * * * Request timed out.
15 * * * Request timed out.
16 * * * Request timed out.
17 *

Ping results also

Pinging www.precisionmanuals.com [66.221.47.170] with 32 bytes of data:

Request timed out.
Request timed out.
Request timed out.
Request timed out.

Ping statistics for 66.221.47.170:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 0, Lost = 4 (100% loss)
N/A

Unable to access website

Could it be a problem with a particular IP range

I'm on the same range as Peter whereas you guys are 80 and 81

Clutching a straws.
holdtight
Grafter
Posts: 1,634
Registered: 15-06-2007

Unable to access website

Weve been here before Mark just a few days ago if memory serves and i think you could be right 81.174 here
N/A

Unable to access website

Indeed Bill. Thought I remembered somthing about that.
Cloudmaster
Grafter
Posts: 257
Registered: 01-08-2007

Unable to access website

Don't know if it helps, but when I came back off holiday I was getting the BT Wholesale page on every site, it was pretty much fixed after a router reboot except for this site.
N/A

Unable to access website

Dont think its down to that. I think the IP range may be the key. Do you fancy raising a ticket and point the CSC towards this thread?

Might get a definative answer.
Cloudmaster
Grafter
Posts: 257
Registered: 01-08-2007

Unable to access website

Ticket raised
N/A

Unable to access website

A bit late in the day, but FWIW if it helps ....

84.92.xx.xxx here, and no problems with that page.
N/A

Unable to access website

It seems that that IP range has no problems. Curious.
holdtight
Grafter
Posts: 1,634
Registered: 15-06-2007

Unable to access website

I can now get full access to the site ! stranger and stranger :?

How bout you cloudmaster ?Huh