Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Speedtouch 510 Firewall

ESL
Grafter

Speedtouch 510 Firewall

Hi Guys,

I am a complete firewall novice but feel comfortable with a CLI.

Could someone advise me how to open the relevant ports on a Speedtouch 510 v4, to allow MS Messenger audio and video?

I can communicate via normal typed messages, but the AV won't work.

Many Thanks in advance.
8 REPLIES
Brickinit
Grafter

Speedtouch 510 Firewall

hi
i found this on ths msn help site, it's not where i was tring to get as another help site of theirs i was on the other night gave more in-depth help but the link seems to be broke at the moment

malc

FirewallsYou can use the Voice features of MSN Messenger if you are behind a Universal Plug and Play (or UPnP) firewall or are using Universal Plug and Play (or UPnP) Network Address Translation (NAT) with your home PC. An example of an UPnP firewall\NAT is Windows XP ICS (Internet Connection Sharing).

If you have a personal firewall installed on your PC, please:

Verify with the manufacturer of your PC that the firewall is UPnP compliant.
Try disabling your firewall and making a PC-to-PC/PC-to-Phone call. If you are able to complete your call successfully with your firewall disabled, it is likely that your firewall is not UPnP compliant.
Check with the manufacturer of your firewall to see if a UPnP version is available. If it is not, you will be unable to access the PC-to-PC/ PC-to-Phone voice features with your current firewall.

One exception to the UPnP firewall requirement is for users behind an ISA Firewall Server. This is a corporate class firewall and you should either consult your corporate Helpdesk or consult your ISA Firewall Server documentation for more information.

If you have any questions on whether you are behind a firewall or what type of firewall it is, please contact your ISP or corporate Helpdesk.

Network Address Translation (NAT)