cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

SBS2000 - Exchange and SMTP Config

N/A

Please help a newbie here.....

Under SBS2000 the Internet Connection wizard asks 2 things regarding the Exchange setup...

1. Forward all mail to a Host or use DNS. I have selected forward all mail to 212.159.3.9
2. Issue a TURN command which I have selected.

I have also enable the SMTP on the email settings under plus.net

Will this work? As I can recieve email, although when I send email it just gets stuck in the "Messages with an unreachable destination" folder under the SMTP connector queue...

Please help me

Moderators note (John) I have moved this from the ADSL forum as it doesn't seem to be just ADSL related.
2 REPLIES
N/A

Exchange 2000 setup

I might be wrong but shouldn't the host be relay.plus.net?
mssystems
Rising Star
Fixes: 1

You can use either option.

Sending mail
1. With DNS the mail exchanger is resolved for each message and the message is then sent directly to the target domains mail server. This system is faster and does not rely on your ISPs mail server. You should avoid this method on dial up links though. DNS must be configured on the exchange server to correctly resolve external names.

2. With forward to single host (relay or smarthost) all mail is sent to the relay server which then delivers using DNS. This method is slower as mail is first delivered to the relay before onward delivery is attempted. Delivery is dependant on the relay server being available and at busy times messages can be delayed.

You can specify the relay server by IP or domain name. Generally you use the domain name. To use the domain name the server must be able to resolve external names. But there are specific circumstances when you do not want your exchange server resolving external names and you must specify the relay servers IP. Using the IP is fine until the ISP changes the address and mail delivery stops for no apparent reason.

Caveats: