cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Newbie: Uploading to my webspace

N/A

Newbie: Uploading to my webspace

This is my first time trying to upload some basic html pages to my webspace.
I am using dreamweaver mx2004 to upload and have entered all the relevant information and tested the connection but when i try to upload i get the following message :

Dreamweaver cannot determine the remote server time. The select newer and synchronize commands will not be available.

Then I get a box that says server not available.

Is this a problem with plusnet or the software that I am using ?
10 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 14,469
Registered: 30-07-2007

Newbie: Uploading to my webspace

What server are you trying to connect to and what path have you specified in DW.
i.e. what have you configured DW with?

Have you tried using another ftp program to try to connect to the same server.

Is you website PHP pages or just standard HTML?
N/A

Newbie: Uploading to my webspace

I think i am trying to connect to the plusnet server.

I connect to the server by Ftp
The host name or address for server is ftp-proxy.plus.net
And I am storing my files in htdocs

Althouh I dont know what server mode to select. I have left this at none at the moment.

The websit is in html

When I try to upload a box appers and says " unable to create remote folder Htdocs"
Community Veteran
Posts: 14,469
Registered: 30-07-2007

Newbie: Uploading to my webspace

I am using DW 3 so what I suggest may be different in your version.

In the DW site definition page -> web server info what have you entered for Host directory. If it is blank put htdocs in lower case. It sounds like it is trying to create the htdocs directory which of course already exists and all of your html files should not be in a htdocs folder.

Also try ticking the passive FTP box and see if it makes a difference although I can connect to proxy-ftp.plus.net without that setting ticked.
N/A

Newbie: Uploading to my webspace

Thanks , inputted htdocs as host directory but I dont think thats the problem. in the site definition part , Testing files part 2, it says it needs to know the URL of the sites root dirctorey( example http://serverone/rootfolder/) I have entered http:/fpt-proxy.plus.net/htdocs/ and when i press the test URL button a box is now coming up saying the following :

Dreamweaver cannot use the prefix you entered to display live data.Please double check your site configurationor click on help for more information on how to correct this problem?(http error: 12002).

Getting in a mess and confused now
Community Veteran
Posts: 14,469
Registered: 30-07-2007

Newbie: Uploading to my webspace

The URL will either be http://www.username.plus.com/ (I think this one) or http://www.username.plus.com/htdocs/ and not the one you use to ftp to the site.

Sometimes you can have multiple sites in the same webspace on the server so it would be http://www.username.plus.com/site1/ and http://www.username.plus.com/site2/ and the 2 directories will be in your htdocs directory called site1 and site2 when viewed in ftp.

This method allows you to try out new website changes without effecting your 'live' site by creating a separate site in DW which points to a test directory in your htdocs (htdocs/test) directory and publishing new web pages. You then access them with http://username.plus.com/test/index.html etc.
N/A

Newbie: Uploading to my webspace

Excellent, finaly got off the ground. Thanks for help, much appreciated.
N/A

Newbie: Uploading to my webspace

Oh no !! new problem i have hopefully uploaded my website (no error messages when doing so) but when i type in my url address my website is not there.

Blank on the screen as well as my mind.

Help....
Community Veteran
Posts: 14,469
Registered: 30-07-2007

Newbie: Uploading to my webspace

This may be related to the web page cache PlusNet have implemented recently.

Clear your local cache
Try CTRL+F5 in IE or SHFT+F5 in mozilla

try the full path including index.html and try adding ?x=y to it.

What URL are you using?
N/A

Newbie: Uploading to my webspace

Thanks , now on the web using the /index.htm but may i ask what the ?x=y is for.
Community Veteran
Posts: 14,469
Registered: 30-07-2007

Newbie: Uploading to my webspace

Its a way parameters can be passed between web pages, i.e. a name ?name=fred&?date="tue" etc and you can get at the info using javascript or if it were a php script it can use it when performing some action or when building a page.

It is a way to fool the web cache to think you are accessing a different page to force it to get the page from the homepages server rather than supplying it from it's own cache. There are issues with the current cache implementation which sometimes means new or updates pages are not seen immediately.