cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Netgear DG834GT & Standard Phone

N/A

I'm new to VoIP so I have a few questions.

Is it possible for me to use PlusTalk with the Netgear DG834GT router? (i.e. without having to keep a computer on) I don't really want to buy another router.

If so, is it possible to use standard phones with VoIP, via some sort of adapter?

Thanks in advance.
15 REPLIES
N/A

PlusNet support told me that I need an adapter or purchase a new router itself. i went for the adpater and it arrives tomorrow, hopefully..I will let you know how I get on!?!?

Link for adapter is:

You would need either the router at 89.99 or the adapter at 74.99. Detail follow. Adapter: http://shop.plus.net/index.php?page=shop.product_details&flypage=shop.flypage&product_id=144&option=...

Router: http://www.plus.net/products/hardware/voice/voice_router_kit.shtml

You use your normal handset with either of the above, as you would normally.

Apparently you can then use a normal handset!
N/A

You need an ATA (Analogue Telephone Adaptor) to use a standard phone with VoIP. I use the Linksys PAP2, which can be purchased for £44.14 from Broadbandbuyer.co.uk - http://www.broadbandbuyer.co.uk/Shop/ShopDetail.asp?ProductID=2222.

Tim
N/A

thanks for your replies guys.

You need an ATA (Analogue Telephone Adaptor) to use a standard phone with VoIP. I use the Linksys PAP2, which can be purchased for £44.14 from Broadbandbuyer.co.uk - http://www.broadbandbuyer.co.uk/Shop/ShopDetail.asp?ProductID=2222.

Tim

so do you use PlusTalk with this adapter?
glloyd
Rising Star
Fixes: 1

Oh dear. I hope they have done something major to the firmware because the version which is currently available is full of bugs. Plus it's jumped up £5 in price in the past few weeks. Good luck.

PlusNet support told me that I need an adapter or purchase a new router itself. i went for the adpater and it arrives tomorrow, hopefully..I will let you know how I get on!?!?