cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Multiple users: email: Outlook Express

canary2211
Grafter

:?: Struggling a bit! I am a bit of a novice!

There are 4 of us in my family. Each would like an email address, passworded. I have set up mailboxes eg Fred@Fredbloggs.plus.net but all the test etc e mails go to a single Outlook Express identity (whichever happens to be running at the time)

In OE each user has an identity, with their own password.

How do I make Fred's messages go to Freds Outlook Express, and Jane's go to Janes, and maintain passwords?

Help please! Thanks in advance!

Moderators note by Chris: This isn't ADSL related, moving to a more relevent forum
13 REPLIES
N/A

Outlook express, different users

Hello,

To have mutliple users each with their own Outlook account, you need to set up a new "identity" for each user.

To do this, open up Outlook Express and click on file, then identities. Then follow the on screen menu to set up each e-mail address as a new account. It will even give you the option to add passwords.

One of the identities will be the default, so make sure the the most fequently used e-mail address is the default option or you will quickly get fed up with switching from one to another !Smiley

I hope this proves useful,
Best regards,

Gareth
N/A

Earlier reply

Sorry,

I just re-read your post and realised that you already have different identities. Shockedops:
N/A

Ok ,

I,ve just tried it myself.

Set up a new identity for each address but don't forget to go into accounts and remove the various e-mail accounts you have. These have then to be set up in each outlook for each identity. i.e. Treat each identity as a completely separate program with it's own settings. That will ensure that e-mails will only go to their rightful recipients.

Hope you understand what I'm getting at there!
N/A

And remember to specify the usernames correctly.