cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Messenger Problems

N/A

Messenger Problems

I've recently got plusnet adsl for my flat after using it while I lived with my parents and am experiencing problems with MSN Messenger and possibly other messaging programs, though I haven't checked any others yet.

Msn Messenger disconnects repeatedly if there's no traffic for a while, it also loses a lot of incoming messages. I highly doubt it's anything to do with MSN itself as it was working fine on the backup connection at my parent's house.

I'm fairly new to setting routers so if there's some port I have to allocate or something, I'd be greatful if some one helped out

Cheers,
Alex
22 REPLIES
N/A

Messenger Problems

http://portal.plus.net/central/forums/viewtopic.php?t=20570

I think Plusnet need to look into this as I have this problem also.....
N/A

Messenger Problems

I think it's probably a setup issue, i.e your router rather than anything related to PN. I use MSN and it hardly ever disconnects etc. I think I've had about two disconnects in the last 3 months.

Does your router have UPnP?

The problem is caused by traffic being blocked by your firewall within the router, and to resolve it you normally need to forward the required ports. Msn is a bit messy as it uses a large range of ports. UPnP makes things easier since it allows MSN to open the ports it needs.

What model router you using?

Aaron
N/A

Messenger Problems

Do you think i should try disabling the basic firewall on my Binatone ADSL 2100 router as I have a Zonealarm one also...
Community Veteran

Messenger Problems

You should not need to. It's better allround security if you run both because the hardare firewall will not block any outhoing connection attempts whereas the software firewall will.

You may want to disable both hardware and software firewall to see if that helps MSN messenger.
N/A

Messenger Problems

Is it a good idea to disable my firewalls?
Community Veteran