cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to set up emain address with new .co.uk domain

rafael
Grafter
Posts: 35
Registered: 01-08-2007

How to set up emain address with new .co.uk domain

Hi there,

How do you set up new email address with registered .co.uk domain...

ie..
newdomain@newdomain.co.uk
instead of having
newdomain@username.plus.com

Any help would be great.
13 REPLIES
csogilvie
Grafter
Posts: 5,852
Registered: 04-04-2007

How to set up emain address with new .co.uk domain

newdomain@newdomain.co.uk just forwards to newdomain@username.plus.com anyway. You can change your From address in your email client to be newdomain@newdomain.co.uk if you wish, but you still pick up the email from mail.plus.net as username (or username+newdomain if it is a mailbox).
N/A

How to set up emain address with new .co.uk domain

If you have setup a mailbox named newdomain@username.plus.com, then you have automaticly setup the mailbox newdomain@domain.co.uk

Anything before the @ sign, going to a domain associated with your account (including the @username.plus.com sub-domain), goes to the mailbox defined.

If no mailbox is defined, the message is delivered to the main account mailbox.
rafael
Grafter
Posts: 35
Registered: 01-08-2007

How to set up emain address with new .co.uk domain

cheers guys
N/A

How to set up emain address with new .co.uk domain

I have this issue too. I don't quite understand some of the replies!

I understand how the incoming side works Ok and have reliable email....

but I would like to be able to send mail from OE that appears to come from mynickname@mydomain.co.uk, can this be achieved with OE or do I need to be more sophisticated......

Help required....point me to the faq if there is one....I don't mind reading , I just don't know where to look.

Thanks Chris
N/A

How to set up emain address with new .co.uk domain

Hi

I have been messing around and "seen the light".... :idea:

in Outlook Express I set up a mail account

display name = myname
email address = myname@mydomain.co.uk
Incoming mail= mail.plus.net
outgoing mail = relay.plus.net
account name = myplusnetaccountname
password = myplusnetpassword
finish

it works fine ...

I send mail on myname@mydomain.co.uk
and I recieve the replies on myname@myplusnetaccount.plus.com
the email recipient gets mail from myname@mydomain.co.uk

I hope this helps someone else
Chris Cheesy
GavinWoods
Dabbler
Posts: 12
Registered: 04-08-2007

How to set up emain address with new .co.uk domain

May i just clarify something regarding using the email at a registered .co.uk domain. Does this automatic forwarding of emails from myname@mydomain.co.uk to myname@myplusnetaccount.plus.com only take place once at account is fully migrated??
I am in the process of migrating from BTO to Plus net and have tried sending a test email to myname@mydomain.co.uk and it fails every time
N/A

How to set up emain address with new .co.uk domain

Your best raising that one in a link:contact us ticket or in the customer feedback forum.
Community Veteran
Posts: 14,469
Registered: 30-07-2007

How to set up emain address with new .co.uk domain

It really depends on what mail server the domain is registered with i.e. what the MX record is set to. Without knowing the domain in question it's impossible to tell you what mail system the domain is currently registered with or if it is registered at all. If you supply the domain name we can look it up.
GavinWoods
Dabbler
Posts: 12
Registered: 04-08-2007

How to set up emain address with new .co.uk domain

the domain im using (or want to use) is www.thewoodsfamily.co.uk Its the one i get for my extra £1 a month through plusnet
The site looks to be there ready for me but no email working as yet
N/A

How to set up emain address with new .co.uk domain

From looking at the domain name, it has been registered through 1&1 and not PlusNet.

Are you sure this domain was available?

Or have you attempted to register elsewhere?
GavinWoods
Dabbler
Posts: 12
Registered: 04-08-2007

How to set up emain address with new .co.uk domain

Curious. Well when i filled out the migration form and ticked the box indicating i wanted to have a .co.uk account. I just assumed that it had been processed and accepted. I didnt get anythinf back to say that it failed or that i couldnt have it. I think i should raise a ticket and see what happens
Community Veteran
Posts: 14,469
Registered: 30-07-2007

How to set up emain address with new .co.uk domain

There is also no MX DNS record so no mail server has been assigned which is why sending mail to that domain goes knowhere.

Also the domain is not available:

Found WHOIS server for .uk: whois.nic.uk. Looking up.

Domain Name:
thewoodsfamily.co.uk

Registrant:
Julian Woods

Registrant's Address:

THE REGISTRANT IS AN INDIVIDUAL WHO HAS ELECTED TO
HAVE THEIR ADDRESS OMITTED FROM THE WHOIS DATABASE

Registrant's Agent:
Schlund + Partner AG [Tag = SCHLUND]
URL: http://registrar.schlund.info

Relevant Dates:
Registered on: 21-Mar-2003
Renewal Date: 21-Mar-2005

Registration Status:
Registered until renewal date.

Name servers listed in order:
ns21.schlund.de 195.20.224.102
ns22.schlund.de 212.227.123.16

WHOIS database last updated at 15:19:27 28-Feb-2004

--
(c) Nominet UK 1996 - 2004

For further information and terms of use please see http://www.nic.uk/whois
Nominet reserves the right to withhold access to this service at any time.
GavinWoods
Dabbler
Posts: 12
Registered: 04-08-2007

How to set up emain address with new .co.uk domain

Ah, well had a reply on my ticket so please disregard my post Smiley Was just me being a bit dumb! For some reason i assumed that once i elected to have a .co.uk domain that it would be the same as my username Smiley In fact i get to chose any domain i want within reason once my migration is complete.