cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Does website URL give Email address to Spammers

pcorker
Grafter

1. Once spammers have my username as shown openly in my webspace URL am I right that they can't successfully email me at: anyoldprefix@myusername.plus.com? I presume that they have to use the prefix(s) that I am currently using.
2. On the first occasion that I send, via the OE account I have set up to use PlusNet email, is an area opened for me on their server under that prefix only?
3. By having a string of OE PlusNet accounts with different email address prefixes I can have a string of addresses active at the same time?
4. When an address attracts a lot of spam (eg as a webpage contact) I can just stop using it. Do I tell PlusNet to close it?

After having a single email address at Freeserve I am new to multiple ones. Hopefully that's 4 "yesses"
4 REPLIES
csogilvie
Grafter

Re: Does website URL give Email address to Spammers

1. Once spammers have my username as shown openly in my webspace URL am I right that they can't successfully email me at: anyoldprefix@myusername.plus.com? I presume that they have to use the prefix(s) that I am currently using.
Wrong - everything sent to @username.plus.com is delivered to your main email box by default - so if a spammer sent an email to sgsofhdsiubwg@username.plus.com, it would be delivered to you.
2. On the first occasion that I send, via the OE account I have set up to use PlusNet email, is an area opened for me on their server under that prefix only?
Sort of... as above, anything@username.plus.com is delivered directly to you. You can, though, create mailboxes and redirects through Email Settings
and can see help on this at http://portal.plus.net/supportpages.html?vfzo51T9UtU%3D
3. By having a string of OE PlusNet accounts with different email address prefixes I can have a string of addresses active at the same time?
Yes.