cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Building a Website - HELP

N/A

I am an absolute beginner and would be grateful for help on how to build a website. I have tried using PlusNet Website Wizard (and help) but am not able to achieve what I want. I basically want to post photographs on a website which family and friends can view and which I can add to.

I have a number of questions/need help as follows:

(1) My ideal website would be one with a Homepage which has (i) a short "Welcome" message and (ii) a menu with a thumbnail photo for each event/trip with a short description (such as "Alaska") which, when clicked on will link the person to those photos.

I have set up a first page as "index" but am having difficulty setting up the second page which, I assume is the one which would have the relevant photos say of Alaska. For my Homepage I have used the "Discovery" template but would ideally want the second page to be more or less blank (ie without a menu) and then slot in the photos.

Please, please can someone out there tell me how to do this or how I can achieve more or less what I want in very simple steps as I'm a complete beginner?

(2) I would prefer to slot in the photos all in one go ie just click on the file rather than insert one photo at a time. Is this possible?

(3) What would be an optimum size for the "large" photos which can be seen clearly but not take up too much space?

(4) I find I am getting "timed out" and everything is freezing when I am working on this.

Sorry, I know this is a lot to ask but I'm confident that there is someone out there who will be kind and patient enough to take me through this step-by-step.

Many thanks

sheema :?: :?: :?:

Moderators note by John (johnessex) exessive emoticons removed
4 REPLIES
Community Veteran

Ok lets try and offer some help.

You say you have your home page setup as a file called index..htm or index.html either is Ok.