cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Apache

Fixes: 121

Apache

I want to Password protect my website so only those I wish to allow to view it can.

Several companies offer passord protection but I have been told to use Apache if my Server supports it.

I have no idea what all this means as I am a complete noobie her

Can anyone shed a little light on this and perhaps send a link or two to help me in my endevours.

Thanks all.

Forum Moderator and Customer
Courage is resistance to fear, mastery of fear, not absence of fear - Mark Twain
He who feared he would not succeed sat still

8 REPLIES
Community Veteran

Apache

Apache is running on the plusnet server already.
What you need to do to make your site only available to people who know the password is to use ".htaccess".

See the tutorial Here for details on how to use this.

Apache

Thanks for that link - it was most helpful.

However, I require the root directory (htdocs) to be protected at this point and set about the code as in the tutorial.

On entering the website I am met with the familiar Password Entry box
& have entered the Username and Passwords exactly as typed in the .htpasswd file but it fails to allow me to enter the site.

The .htpasswd file only consists of the one username and password with no spaces at all.

Removing the line feed at the end of the password makes no difference.

I notice that the tutorial says I should encrypt the password first. I see that the password is shown as a string of *s. Is this correct or has sopme sort of encryption already taken place which I should deal with.

Can you offer any possible solutions to my problem.

Cheers

Courage is resistance to fear, mastery of fear, not absence of fear - Mark Twain

Apache

Doh!

I should have read further about making sure the password file has the encryped Password.

So, I have tried to use the Encryption tool at http://www.euronet.nl/~arnow/htpasswd but get the error 'The page cannot be displayed'.