cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Adding Google Search Tool to my website

shermans
Rising Star
Posts: 1,049
Thanks: 27
Fixes: 1
Registered: 07-09-2007

Adding Google Search Tool to my website

I have tried to add Google's free search tool to my website but I have met with total failure. It works searching the WWW but not my webpages. I am obviously doing soemthing wrong and suspect that the Plusnet webspace I am showing as my domain is incorrect (www.shermans.plus.com). This is the code which I have used as supplied by Google and I have replaced "My Domain" with "http://shermans.plus.com"as required three times, but no luck so far.

Does anyone have any suggestions ? here is the code :

<!-- SiteSearch Google -->
<FORM method=GET action="http://www.google.com/search">
<TABLE bgcolor="#FFFFFF"><tr><td>
<A HREF="http://www.google.com/">
<IMG SRC="http://www.google.com/logos/Logo_40wht.gif"
border="0" ALT="Google"></A>
</td>
<td>
<INPUT TYPE=text name=q size=31 maxlength=255 value="">
<INPUT type=submit name=btnG VALUE="Google Search">
<font size=-1>
<input type=hidden name=domains value="YOUR DOMAIN NAME"><br><input type=radio name=sitesearch value=""> WWW <input type=radio name=sitesearch value="YOUR DOMAIN NAME" checked> YOUR DOMAIN NAME <br>
</font>
</td></tr></TABLE>
</FORM>
<!-- SiteSearch Google -->
8 REPLIES
N/A

Adding Google Search Tool to my website

You should replace every occurance of YOUR DOMAIN NAME with www.shermans.plus.com and not http://www.shermans.plus.com/

I must also note, that your site must have been indexed for this feature to work.
shermans
Rising Star
Posts: 1,049
Thanks: 27
Fixes: 1
Registered: 07-09-2007

Google

Thanks but it still does not work. (I actually already tried it before that way and have tried it again since you wrote. This is the reply which I get from Google :

Your search - adsl - did not match any documents.
No pages were found containing "site:www.shermans.plus.com"

It seems to me that it cannot find my webpage. Should I be putting htdocs in the path or anything like that ?
N/A

Adding Google Search Tool to my website

No.

As noted in my reply, the google site search relies on a sucessful rebot crawl of your website.

Have you submitted it to google?
shermans
Rising Star
Posts: 1,049
Thanks: 27
Fixes: 1
Registered: 07-09-2007

Google

Sorry, I overlooked your second point.

Actually, according to the instructions that come with the download from Google, it does not use the web-crawl. According to the instructions, the line <input type=hidden name=domains value="www.shermans.plus.com"> tells Google where to look, and hence the response "No pages were found containing "site:www.shermans.plus.com"" indicates that it is trying to access my website ok but for some reason cannot. In Google, "site:" actually directs Google to a specific website.

I wonder whether it is because the plusnet webpage is actually only a virtual domain, and not a full domain. My actual domain www.shermans.co.uk does point to Plusnet.

Incidently, my website has been submitted to Google some time ago, so that should not cause a problem even if it were the case.

Regards
shermans
Rising Star
Posts: 1,049
Thanks: 27
Fixes: 1
Registered: 07-09-2007

Google

I forgot to mention that the above code produces a Google Search screen with two radio button options : Search the WWW or Search the designated domain. That is why the crawler is not needed.

Thanks
shermans
Rising Star
Posts: 1,049
Thanks: 27
Fixes: 1
Registered: 07-09-2007

Apologies !!

I must whoeheartedly apologise. You were absolutely right. The Google web crawler does have to visit the site first to map it. Having written my last note, to be on the safe side, I tried an ordinary www search for my site on Google and it did not find it. I then went back into the Google free site search tool and checked the download again. I could not find anything inconsistent and so went back to the Google page and then opened a section on customisation. That had a FAQ sheet with it, and one was on this very topic. It confirmed that the page had first to be mapped by the crawler. Why it has not yet been mapped, I don't know as I submitted the URL months ago.

No excuses, just sincere apologies. I bow to your knowledge !
N/A

Adding Google Search Tool to my website

Google may not map your site for many reasons.

You might like to consult the google FAQ on this matter.

There are two specific pages you should consult. HERE and HERE

Your site will have the rebot visit regardless of the type of hosting. PlusNet webspace, both using domains and www.username.plus.com both employ virtual hosting and not frame-redirect. Virtual hosting is the only proper type supported by google, so this is not of issue.

Robots are only able to index pages that have links providing access to them.

This means if you ahve 5 pages with the following structure. Your index page has text but no links, the other 4 link to each other.

When google indexes your site, it can't pickup the four pages as there are no links to them. If you realy on java or javascript based navigation, then google will also misss them too.

The whole subject of how search engines crawl and index your site is a langthy subject. However it is mainly download to good linking and standard navigation tactics.
shermans
Rising Star
Posts: 1,049
Thanks: 27
Fixes: 1
Registered: 07-09-2007

Thanks

Thanks very much. Very helpful indeed.