Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

message rejected due to spam or virus

rnewfie
Grafter

Re: message rejected due to spam or virus

What's going on with this?

I receive the message below every time I send any emails with an image in them.

I have been using the same emails for many years and yesterday, they started failing.

If I send the exact same email, but edit out the image immediately before sending, it works.

I have 30 different emails with images in them and now none of them work.

11/06/16 16:37
552 5TcG1t0060gWXnW01TcJFK message rejected due to spam or virus. If you believe this is in error please login to your portal or contact your ISP support team.

spraxyt
Resting Legend
Fixes: 75

Some characteristic of your images is clearly upsetting outbound spam checking. Sad

I suggest choosing a handful of the problem emials and working through the procedure described in post Outgoing email blocked rejected with code: 552 Message Rejected with each of them.

Hopefully this will train the spam filters appropriately but if not the post explains what to do.

David
rnewfie
Grafter

Well, that was a waste of several hours.

I checked that the emails were still failing, and they were, so I followed the procedure of sending the same emails from webmail as suggested, and they didn't fail.

I then proceded to see what the difference was between sending from webmail and sending from Outlook. I tried all sorts to get it to fail so that I could do the 'not spam' thing. No matter what I tried, it wouldn't fail on webmail.

I then tried to send one of the failing emails from Outlook to myself on Outlook so that I could look at the headers, and it went through without failing.

I tried all of the other emails in the same way and they all now go through - I have changed nothing.