cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

freenetname - no send/receive for 2 days

fairmaiden
Grafter
Posts: 45
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎26-08-2015

freenetname - no send/receive for 2 days

The last two days I have been unable to send or receive emails (via WLM) for my freenetname address.

This seems to happen once or twice a year and eventually resets itself (or something happens anyway).

Can anyone help on this? Madasafish website does not accept my logging into their Support option so

I cannot raise a ticket that way.

Pic of error message is attached (I hope).

 

47 REPLIES
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 13,561
Thanks: 1,245
Fixes: 102
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: freenetname - no send/receive for 2 days


fairmaiden wrote:

Madasafish website does not accept my logging into their Support option so

I cannot raise a ticket that way.


Try using the link here to raise a support ticket.

Having said that, I can't see anything wrong with your account.

Are you able to log into Webmail? It's likely something on your machine that's blocking communication with the POP3 server. Antivirus/security software is a fairly common culprit, so might be an idea to to try temporarily disabling any such software to see if it makes any difference.

Bob Pullen
Plusnet Product Team
If I've been helpful then please give thanks ⤵

fairmaiden
Grafter
Posts: 45
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎26-08-2015

Re: freenetname - no send/receive for 2 days

Thank you for getting back to me - further information:

I can log into my Webmail perfectly ok, so at least I can see my emails that way.

When I ping the IP address 212.159.8.233 (via the Command Prompt) I get "Request timed out"

This happens if I ping the numerical address or the server name (mail.freenetname.co.uk).

When this has happened previously, it just seems to clear itself for some reason - I never change

anything on my system.

I use AVG Free and have never had any problems there.

 

fairmaiden
Grafter
Posts: 45
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎26-08-2015

Re: freenetname - no send/receive for 2 days

Not sure if this is of help or not, but attached is a trace route (I am on Vodafone dongle).

Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 9,888
Thanks: 1,252
Fixes: 71
Registered: ‎06-04-2007

Re: freenetname - no send/receive for 2 days

@fairmaiden That provides very helpful information and shows the servers are not accessible from outside the Plusnet network.

I've confirmed that ping and tracert to mail.freenetname.co.uk respond normally from my home connection inside the Plusnet network and telnet to it on port 110 connects.

However from the usertools box outside the Plusnet network ping blocks and traceroute stops at either the colindale or faraday router.

[~ $] traceroute mail.freenetname.co.uk
traceroute to mail.freenetname.co.uk (212.159.9.233), 30 hops max, 60 byte packets
 6  195.66.227.42 (195.66.227.42)  3.540 ms  3.550 ms
LINX1.ukcore.BT.net (195.66.224.11) 4.486 ms 7 core2-hu0-8-0-7.colindale.ukcore.bt.net (62.172.103.6) 6.252 ms
core3-hu0-2-0-6.faraday.ukcore.bt.net (62.6.201.194) 4.920 ms 4.893 ms 8 * * * 9 * * * 10 * * * 11 * * *

Back to @bobpullen I think.

David
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 13,561
Thanks: 1,245
Fixes: 102
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: freenetname - no send/receive for 2 days

I think ICMP traces from outside the Plusnet network are expected to fail.

The litmus test is whether or not you can telnet to the server:

~$ telnet mail.freenetname.co.uk 110
Trying 212.159.8.233...
Connected to mail.freenetname.co.uk.
Escape character is '^]'.
+OK Hello there.

 

Bob Pullen
Plusnet Product Team
If I've been helpful then please give thanks ⤵

Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 9,888
Thanks: 1,252
Fixes: 71
Registered: ‎06-04-2007

Re: freenetname - no send/receive for 2 days

I think the traceroute from the usertools box would be UDP, not sure if that should work.

However telnet to that server also times out.

[~ $] telnet mail.freenetname.co.uk 110
Trying 212.159.9.233...
Trying 212.159.8.233...
telnet: Unable to connect to remote host: Connection timed out
David
fairmaiden
Grafter
Posts: 45
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎26-08-2015

Re: freenetname - no send/receive for 2 days

Result of a telnet from my computer attached.

Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 9,888
Thanks: 1,252
Fixes: 71
Registered: ‎06-04-2007

Re: freenetname - no send/receive for 2 days

Could you try this without the square brackets round the port number 110

Just open mail.freenetname.co.uk 110

David
fairmaiden
Grafter
Posts: 45
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎26-08-2015

Re: freenetname - no send/receive for 2 days

telnet2.JPG

fairmaiden
Grafter
Posts: 45
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎26-08-2015

Re: freenetname - no send/receive for 2 days

Just downloaded my emails using my dial-up modem (via my BT landline) - still no luck using my vodafone dongle.

fairmaiden
Grafter
Posts: 45
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎26-08-2015

Re: freenetname - no send/receive for 2 days

Just did a tracert via my modem connection and still get Request timed out, despite getting my emails,

only uses the faraday option......

Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 5,286
Thanks: 612
Fixes: 5
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: freenetname - no send/receive for 2 days

We've having a look at this.

Kelly Dorset
Broadband Service Manager
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 5,286
Thanks: 612
Fixes: 5
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: freenetname - no send/receive for 2 days

@fairmaiden  Based on this working for us, and the DNS resolution being correct in your post above, this appears to be something to do with the Vodaphone network, rather than specific to us. Do we know if their dongles support pop3 access?

 

DO you have any other email addresses with different providers which are/aren't working?

Kelly Dorset
Broadband Service Manager
fairmaiden
Grafter
Posts: 45
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎26-08-2015

Re: freenetname - no send/receive for 2 days

This is seriously weird..... I have just used the Snipping Tool (Windows 7) and my dongle and it has sent an email to my yahoo account perfectly ok.

The sent email appears in the Sent folder in my WLM email account !!!

I have checked (via command R and outlook) and I do not have Outlook installed on my system, so the Snipping Tool must have sent the email via WLM (as it is also in my Sent folder).

I also sent a Snipping Tool email to my freenetname account and it has appeared in my Webmail (and in my Sent folder).

(When I am using the Snipping Tool I have not had WLM open at the time).