cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

What volume of email can you leave on the server?

MrToast
Grafter

What volume of email can you leave on the server?

I've been using IMAP for a few years. Today I received an email from PN saying that excessive volume was on the server. There is no advice on which mailbox(es) or by how much.
I've previously asked what the limits are but ever received an answer. All PN reps ever said at the time was that there are no defined limits.
So, what is reasonable, and what are PN's guidelines?
25 REPLIES 25
Mattz0r
Rising Star
Fixes: 1

Re: What volume of email can you leave on the server?

Good Afternoon Mr Toast,
The limit for stored email is 1Gb as per the information here: http://www.plus.net/support/email/common_questions.shtml#limits
Regards,
Matt
MrToast
Grafter

Thanks for the link Matt. Thats new info for me.
Now, how do I tell how much is in each mailbox without downloading it all? Is there a tool on the server to do that?
Mattz0r
Rising Star

Hey there,
There currently isn't a way of seeing the mailbox size, However, I have put some feedback through to our development team, with a suggestion to get this implemented.
Regards,
Matt
MrToast
Grafter

Quote from: Mattz0r
I have put some feedback through to our development team,

Thanks Matt. That would be really good to see something implemented.
jelv
Seasoned Hero
Fixes: 10

There currently isn't a way of seeing the mailbox size,

Then how the heck did someone determine that he had too much mail stored?
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£14.40/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
MrToast
Grafter

Now I'm advised on the ticket #36662884  that I'm to keep sub 600M , but I still don't know what my total agregate actually is.