cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

The following recipient(s) could not be reached: 550 ......recipient rejected - relay denied

noelhb
Hooked

The following recipient(s) could not be reached: 550 ......recipient rejected - relay denied

Hi 

I'm new to this so not sure if i'm in the right place - whenever i try and send an email from my computer i keep getting the following message - The following recipient(s) could not be reached: 550 ......recipient rejected - relay denied 

i am receiving emails but cannot send them - i would appreciate some help or being pointed in the right direction.

many thanks 

19 REPLIES 19
Chris
Legend
Fixes: 169

Re: The following recipient(s) could not be reached: 550 ......recipient rejected - relay denied

Is this to one person specifically? That error suggests that their email address may be invalid.

Former Plusnet Staff member. Posts after 31st Jan 2020 are not on behalf of Plusnet.
noelhb
Hooked

Re: The following recipient(s) could not be reached: 550 ......recipient rejected - relay denied

hi  - no it's to everyone who i try and send mail to

Chris
Legend

Can you private message me with the full error including any addresses it's showing please.

Former Plusnet Staff member. Posts after 31st Jan 2020 are not on behalf of Plusnet.
noelhb
Hooked

hi Chris - how do i private message you? 

MisterW
Superuser
Superuser
Fixes: 385

@Chris , '550 relay denied" , sounds more like a problem with the outgoing SMTP server settings ?

@noelhb what email client are you using and what settings do you have for the outgoing server ?

Superusers are not staff, but they do have a direct line of communication into the business in order to raise issues, concerns and feedback from the community.

Chris
Legend

Possibly, however it was this bit that I saw:

.recipient rejected

@noelhb Please send me a private message me here

noelhb
Hooked

Hi