Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Obscure DSN message

kjpetrie
Aspiring Pro
Fixes: 5

Obscure DSN message

I have just received the following DSN:

This is an automatically generated Delivery Status Notification.      

Delivery to the following recipients failed permanently:

* xxxx@btinternet.com

Reason: A message that you sent to the following recipient could not be delivered due to a permanent error. ** The remote server ?? responded with: ** xxxx@btinternet.com ??:?? This message was created automatically by mail delivery software on the server .

There is a link "[text/rfc822-headers (929 bytes)] " but clicking this brings up no record of any transaction with the server which rejected the message, so I can't determine the reason for rejection.

Where can I find the full DSN?

5 REPLIES 5
jab1
Legend
Fixes: 248

Re: Obscure DSN message

I'm no expert on email -  you need one of the SU's for more in depth analysis, but that, although it looks fairly genuine, could well be dangerous link - hope you haven't tried it? Ooops, you have!Shocked

First question - have sent anyone at that address a message they say they haven't got?

Second question - is that exactly the message? - if so, some information - the rejection code is missing

Thirdly the 'link' you posted is not the normal text string for a delivery failure, they are usually much long and all alpha-numeric gobbledegook..

John
dvorak
Fixes: 1,482

Can you post the email headers?
Customer / Moderator
If it helped click the thumb
If it fixed it click 'This fixed my problem'
kjpetrie
Aspiring Pro

Not on a public forum.

I know the bounce is genuine because it arrived within a minute of me sending a message to that address and quoted the message I sent at the end. I also know it's not the correct format for a DSN, which is why I'm querying it here!

I have since discovered the following in the source:

Subject: Mail delivery failed: returning message to sender

This is a multi-part message in MIME format.