cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Not receiving emails via Webmail

dabow
Rising Star

Not receiving emails via Webmail

I have had a try at using Webmail for the first time. I can send emails but never receive any via webmail.

They do finish up ok in my ordinary plusnet email box . Any suggestions as what may be going wrong ?

10 REPLIES 10
jab1
Legend
Fixes: 253

Re: Not receiving emails via Webmail

What email client are you using to collect mail? It sounds like that client is configured to delete mail from the server on download, but I'm no expert - you need someone with greater knowledge to advise, really.

John
dabow
Rising Star

Hi,

I am using Windows Live Mail for the main emailwork. I get no webmail delivered even if I disable  the WLM while I wait for webmail to down load . ?Huh

jab1
Legend

Sorry, can't answer that one, then.

What happens if you open webmail before loading WLM? - I appreciate you probably can't try that until you've turned the machine off, but could you try it, say, first thing tomorrow?

I've never used WLM, so have no idea how it works.

John
dabow
Rising Star

Hi John,

I have effectively tried that. I have closed down WLM so that it does not download emails. Have sent trial emails (via Gmail) in an attempt to encourage webmail to receive them, but to no avail.

When I restart WLM the trial emails are then downloaded as normal. So they are being accepted but not showing on Webmail.  Strange !

David.

jab1
Legend

Strange one, David.

I wonder if @MisterW can help?

John
dabow
Rising Star

Hi John,

I think I have just cracked it. I have got it to receive. It looks as though you have to sign in to the Webmail using my email address rather than my plusnet username. Before, when signing in with username ((and password) it gave access apparently to the webmail since it allowed me to send emails. Time it has accepted receive emails. Seems a bit strange though.