Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

New user email setup

rja66
Rising Star
Fixes: 1

New user email setup

My sister had her go live email yesterday and this morning I tried to set up new broadband, no sync, fault raised etc. but that's a separate issue
However whilst at her address I said I would configure her outlook settings so she can download her plusnet email (she still has a separate broadband connection on a different line from the business beneath her flat) .
I couldn't get the email to work, maybe because it requires authentication because she is using a different provider, I'm unsure, but that aside I tried to log in through webmail and couldn't access it either. Is it possible the initial email address she provided when placing the order hasn't been set up at Plusnet's end or do you have to create the first email account manually. It was 9 years ago I set mine up and I got a postmaster address and my first email setup for me, I thought (maybe I created it, my memory fails me).
Entering manage emails in the member centre doesn't have a list as I am used to seeing for my account, just an add new mail box, entering info here seems to do nothing.
Reading the email setup guides offers no further info.
Never had a problem myself but my sister is not impressed so far to say the least.
Any ideas?
9 REPLIES 9
spraxyt
Resting Legend
Fixes: 75

Re: New user email setup

If you send an email to what you believe to be your sister's Plusnet email address does it bounce back as unknown user (or similar)? If it's delivered the mailbox should be working and should be listed in the Manage My Mail tool. If no mailboxes have been setup MMM normally defaults to setting up an email address the first time it is entered.