cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Is it Possible to change your Username?

Wingco39
Grafter

Is it Possible to change your Username?

I'm new to PN and when I signed up a few weeks ago I chose a user name without realising that it would form the domain part of my email address i.e. the bit after the @ I want to change it for security reasons. Can I and how? I've been told by customer support that I'm stuck with it. But how difficult can it be  Lips_are_sealed
8 REPLIES 8
acr
Rising Star
Fixes: 1

Re: Is it Possible to change your Username?

It is not something that can be done. Have a look at:
http://community.plus.net/forum/index.php/topic,100740.0.html
Wingco39
Grafter

Thanks for that acr. Looks like I just have to threaten to leave :'(. I see that Sadie got her new email address in the end!  Really I can't beleive that in a company who's business is IT that it can't be done because it requites "too much manual work". Sounds like the folks at PN require a bit of systems integration then! Sad  Yeh Yeh, G-Mail, register a Domain name etc etc. I just can't be bothered with all the hassle frankly and I shouldn't have to. Disappointed in my first week with PlusNet and wish that someone had pointed out the ramifications when choosing a user name. I'll stick it out for twelve months then I'm off!
James
Grafter

Hi there,
From what I can tell you signed up online?  I've attached a picture of the bit in our signup journey where it asks you to choose a username.  It does tell you that this forms part of the email address.
I'm genuinely sorry that you're not happy with our stance on this and the fact that we are unable to change a username once signed up is a limitation. Is this merely just a case of you not liking your email address?
Wingco39
Grafter

James,