Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Importing address book

theoldandgrey
Rising Star
Fixes: 1

Importing address book

Hi I am brand new to Plusnet and am completely at a loss as to how to import my address book from Windows Live Mail - I have trawled the forum but I just cannot find the appropriate instructions.  It all looks very simple but it seems that wlm isn't in the right format is this the case?  Any assitance would be appreciated
11 REPLIES 11
Oldjim
Resting Legend
Fixes: 63

Re: Importing address book

A rather silly question - but why do you want to import your address book to the webmail platform
theoldandgrey
Rising Star

Oh dear, am I that stupid.  If I am away from home I use webmail and it does help to have my address book on line
Anotherone
Champion
Fixes: 21

Jim doesn't go away that often  Wink
Oldjim
Resting Legend

I assumed everyone who went away would have the address book on their mobile device (laptop etc.) - shows how much I know  Embarrassed
OK this may work
http://www.freeemailtutorials.com/windowsLiveMail/addressBooksAndContacts/exportContacts.htm
Export as .vcf  
Open Webmail then select Address Book and Import Contacts - I think it is the 4th icon from the left
Anotherone
Champion

Please see this thread http://community.plus.net/forum/index.php/topic,103965.0.html to be aware of  potential security issues of using external sites to do multiple extractions for you, rather than doing it one by one yourself.
Edit: clarification.
Oldjim
Resting Legend

I don't post links to dodgy sites - I suggest you check the link before posting in future as it just gives instructions for exporting the address book from Windows Live Mail
Anotherone
Champion

I never said the link was dodgy and I did look at it  Shocked  I've edited my post to remove the misunderstanding.