cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How long are deleted emails kept in Webmail

swissbank
Grafter
Posts: 25
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎09-01-2018

How long are deleted emails kept in Webmail

Can someone tell me please how long deleted emails are kept in Webmail?

 

Thanks,  swissbank

5 REPLIES
swissbank
Grafter
Posts: 25
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎09-01-2018

Re: How long are deleted emails kept in Webmail

To be more specific, I mean the emails contained in the Folder "Deleted items" on the Webmail opening screen.

 

swissbank

Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 9,925
Thanks: 1,265
Fixes: 71
Registered: ‎06-04-2007

Re: How long are deleted emails kept in Webmail

If the Settings -> Preferences -> Server Settings option to empty the Trash folder on logout is set (which I think is default) then Trash/Deleted Items will be emptied when you logout. Otherwise when you delete them - but relying on deleted emails remaining in that folder is not something I would recommend.

David
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,744
Thanks: 954
Fixes: 10
Registered: ‎10-04-2007

Re: How long are deleted emails kept in Webmail

Emails in trash/deleted are removed by the Plusnet server after a period - not sure exactly how long that is but it is somewhere between one and two weeks.

jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
swissbank
Grafter
Posts: 25
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎09-01-2018

Re: How long are deleted emails kept in Webmail

jelv, thanks that's exactly what I wanted to know.  swissbank

swissbank
Grafter
Posts: 25
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎09-01-2018

Re: How long are deleted emails kept in Webmail

David, that's very helpful, thanks.

When I went to Settings/Server Settings I saw that "Do not show deleted _messages_" (my underscoring)

was unchecked.

When I checked it and went back to WebMail, _Deleted Items_ were gone, not showing.

That's what I wanted but I was surprised "Do not show deleted _messages_" caused it to happen.

Previously, my Deleted Items were greyed out although I could still access them if I clicked on them.

I think that was trying to tell me something.

Anyway, I've achieved what I set out to do, thanks to your help and support.

 

Peter

BTW  I've never needed to go into Settings until now and certainly not anywhere near Server Settings!

I'll have a closer look at the other stuff in there later this week, it looks interesting.

Thanks for introducing me to it.